Home | Race Tracks | Upper Peninsula Inter. Raceway | UPIR Season Finale 8-27-2016

UPIR Season Finale 8-27-2016

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font
UPIR Season Finale 8-27-2016

UPIR Season Finale 8-27-2016
After a rain soaked week in the Upper Peninsula, the crew at UPIR put together a
spectacular track and readied themselves for a fantastic send off of the 2016 racing
In appreciation of the race fans, all concessions were marked down to $2 and fans even
had a chance to take part in a UPIR first, the UPIR Ride Along Car! The lucky winner
was Brenda Clark, who sat shotgun for 5 laps around UPIR. The excitement and smiles
which came from Brenda were priceless! The fans also had a chance to win a UP
Pendant donated by Richardson Jewelers, and bicycles and backpacks donated by Jim
Cayer #81 Modified and Jonathan Pepin #V2 Street Stock.
As the final race of the 2016 season began, only #2 Matt Valiquette in the
Modified division had secured a points championship. Five other divisions were still up
for grabs and the night would prove to be one to remember!
In the Junior Micro Sprints, #11 Avry Corrigan only held an 8 point lead over #23 Brett
Labre. The two driver would battle over second while chasing down the leader, #22
Elliot Corrigan. Racing came to a quick halt as #119 Brennan Swanson and #01 Cole
Constantino collided and Swanson’s car flipped hard. Thankfully both drivers walked
away safely. After racing resumed, Elliot Corrigan would hold off a charging Labre and
grab his first ever feature win. Avry Corrigan would finished 3rd and solidify his second
consecutive Championship in the Junior Micro Sprint division.
In the Sportsman Micro Sprint division, #8 Logan Getzloff went on the sweep the
night with a heat and feature win and snag the championship from #99 Dave Hosking
and #58 Michael Ault.
Coming into the night, #21 Christian Groleau held a 25 point lead over #42 Matt
Peterson, but Groleau would need the assistance of Jordan Ives to help him hold on to
the top spot. Groleau was hospitalized a week prior due to an emergency
appendectomy. Peterson did all he could to steal the championship away by winning his
heat and the feature, but it wasn’t enough as Ives wheeled the #21 to a solid finish and
Christian Groleau would hold onto the 600 Micro Sprint championship.
The Street Stock’s saw point leader, #01 Max Constantino battle hard to end the season
with a win, but was contested by #V2 Jonathan Pepin and #5 Paul Wagner. Pepin went
on the grab his first feature win of the year but Constantino finished with a strong third
place and came home the champion in the Street Stock division.
#2 Matt Valiquette had a 69 point leader over #4 Pat Richer in the Modified division and
had already locked himself into the top spot, but charged hard and finished the season
off in style with a feature win.
In the Sport Four division , #79 Luke Vermote held a solid lead over his competition
going into the final race. He battled his way through the pack for a top 5 finish and
nabbed his first ever championship in the division. Meanwhile, #107 Craig Klotz would
go on to win his first feature race of the season.
Thank you again to all of the 2016 UPIR sponsors, fans, drivers and volunteers! You are
what made this year one to remember and we can’t wait to be back in 2017 for more dirt
racing action!
2016 Champions
Riverside Auto Group Junior Micro Sprints - #11 Avry Corrigan
Sportsman Micro Sprints - #8 Logan Getzloff
600 Micro Sprints - #21 Christian Groluea
Street Stocks - #01 Max Constantino
Modifieds - #2 Matt Valiquette
Bink’s Coca Cola Sport Fours - #79 Luke Vermote
Top 3 finishers from feature races and heat races winners are listed below*
Riverside Auto Group Junior Micro Sprints
Heat - Brett Labre
Feature -
1. Elliot Corrigan
2. Brett Labre
3. Avry Corrigan
Sportsman Micro Sprints
Heat - Logan Getzloff
Feature -
1. Logan Getzloff
2. Michael Ault
3. Dave Hosking
600 Micro Sprints
Heat 1 - Jeff Ives
Heat 2 - Matt Peterson
Heat 3 - Denver Larsen
LCQ - Brock Bower
Feature -
1. Matt Peterson
2. Todd Belanger
3. Jeff Ives
Street Stocks
Heat 1- Jonathan Pepin
Heat 2 - Paul Wagner
Feature -
1. Jonathan Pepin
2. Paul Wagner
3. Max Constantino
Heat 1 - Chris Olson
Heat 2 - Fran Berube
Feature -
1. Matt Valiquette
2. Russ Franks
3. Pat Richer
Bink’s Coca Cola Sport Fours
Heat 1 - Craig Klutz
Heat 2 - Hattie Bordeaux
Feature -
1. Craig Klotz
2. Alex Constantino
3. Nick Leisner
*Race Results subject to change under further review
For more information LIKE us on Facebook or visit www.upirtrack.com

Subscribe to comments feed Comments (0 posted)

total: | displaying:

Post your comment

Please enter the code you see in the image:

  • email Email to a friend
  • print Print version
  • Plain text Plain text
Tagged as:
Rate this article
Powered by SCW CMS v4.5.2