Home | Race Tracks | Upper Peninsula Inter. Raceway | Results and Race Reports from UPIR June 25

Results and Race Reports from UPIR June 25

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font
Results and Race Reports from UPIR June 25

Fan Appreciation Night at UPIR  June 25, 2016    Saturday evening marked the annual Fan Appreciation Night at the Upper  Peninsula Raceway. As part of the festivities, fans and drivers gathered along the  frontstretch grandstand prior to green flag time to interact with one another. This gave  the fans an opportunity to meet their favorite drivers, get autographs, and even get  some candy and other treats from some of the competitors.    Heat races flew by without any major incidents, which led right into intermission.  Included in this week’s intermission was the usual 50/50 raffle and a drawing for a  gorgeous Sterling Silver necklace in the shape of the Upper Peninsula with a diamond  chip in the center from Richardson Jewelers. Bikes, donated by Street Stock drivers  Corey DeGrave and Jon Pepin, were raffled off for the kids in attendance.    The feature races emulated the heat races in the second half of racing action,  with fast, clean, racing with very little O’Reilley Auto Parts Caution Flags slowing the  action. Avry Corrigan once again put on a dominant performance in the Riverside Auto  Group Junior Micro Sprint Feature. Brett Labre and Elliot Corrigan putting on strong  races in second and third respectively. Do ​ NOT  ​ be surprised to see either one of these  kids in Victory Lane at UPIR sometime this season!    From one dominant performance to another, Logan Getzloff recovered from early  trouble in the heats to run away with the Sportsmen Micro Sprint Feature. Dave Hosking  and Tyler Winling battled lap after lap tooth and nail for second, with Hosking crossing  the line ahead of Winling after the dust settled.    The wild 600 Micro Sprints had their feature to complete the trio of UPIR sprint  divisions. As always, the field fanned out three and four wide on the start, with side by  side racing action throughout the field for all 20 laps. 2015 UPIR Track Champion Matt  Peterson claimed the feature win, behind him were Christian Groleau in second, and  Scott Ruleau in third.    Up next was the beating and banging of the Street Stock. Living up to its  reputation as the roughest division at UPIR, drivers swapped paint, bent bumpers, and  slammed doors. But a testament to the skill of the Street Stock drivers, everyone stayed  out of major trouble. Max Constantino took the checkered flag, with Ron Jenshak and 
UPIR first­timer John Hill rounding out the podium. It was great having Sturgeon Bay,  Wisconsin’s John Hill at UPIR for the first time, and we hope to see him back at UPIR  again!  Another Wisconsin driver displaying strength Saturday night was Algoma’s  Randy Theys in the Modified division. Randy held off the hard charging pair of Lonnie  Dalgord and Matt Valiquette for the better part of the second half of the feature race. A  last lap charge into turn four wasn’t quite enough for the duo, however. Theys held on  for the win, Dalgord finished in second, with Valiquette third.    The biggest surprise of the night came in the final feature race of the night, which  was as always the Bink’s Coca­Cola Sport Fours. For 17 laps, Bryon Stemick  dominated the feature, until an incident in turn three brought out the caution with three  laps to go. On the restart, Stemick launched to the lead, then jumped to the high side to  block the charging Luke Vermote. Randy DeGrave saw an opportunity as Stemick  opened the bottom lane, and he took it. Making a three wide pass exiting turn two,  DeGrave never looked back for the final three laps and took the victory. Bryon Stemick  settled for a second place finish. Luke Vermote took the third position, rounding out the  podium.       Below are the top three finishers from each of the six divisions’ Feature Races​ *    Bink’s Coca Cola Sport Fours:  1. Randy DeGrave (Escanaba, Mi)  2. Bryon Stemick (Escanaba, Mi)  3. Luke Vermote (Escanaba, Mi)    Modifieds:  1. Randy Theys (Algoma, Wi)  2. Lonnie Dalgord (Escanaba, Mi)  3. Matt Valiquette (Menominee, Mi)    Street Stocks:  1. Max Constantino (Rapid River, Mi)  2. Ron Jenshak (Escanaba, Mi)  3. John Hill (Sturgeon Bay, Wi)     
  600 Micro Sprints  1. Matt Peterson (Escanaba, Mi)  2. Christian Groleau (Gladstone, Mi)  3. Scott Ruleau (Menominee, Mi)    Sportsmen Micro Sprints  1. Logan Getzloff (Wilson, Mi)  2. Dave Hosking (Bark River, Mi)  3. Tyler Winling (Escanaba, Mi)    Riverside Auto Group Junior Micro Sprints  1. Avry Corrigan (Escanaba, Mi)  2. Brett Labre (Escanaba, Mi)  3. Elliot Corrigan (Escanaba, Mi)    *  ​ Race results are subject to change under further review    Next Race: ​ July 9  Event:​  Art Richer Memorial/Vintage Modifieds  Gates Open: ​ 4PM EST  Green Flag:​  6 PM EST      By UPIR Race Reporter Todd Rose 

Subscribe to comments feed Comments (0 posted)

total: | displaying:

Post your comment

Please enter the code you see in the image:

  • email Email to a friend
  • print Print version
  • Plain text Plain text
Tagged as:
Rate this article
Powered by SCW CMS v4.5.2