Home | Race Tracks | Tri-City Motor Speedway | David Hilliker picks up first win of the season

David Hilliker picks up first win of the season

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font
David Hilliker picks up first win of the season



Tri City Motor Speedway

Contact: Steve Puvalowski

Phone: 989-316-6804

E-mail: steve@tricityracetrack.com

For Immediate Release



07/10/2015 Mascot Mayhem


Steven's Cycle Sales and Services Bomber Stocks: #09 Jack Freeze

Hastings Racing Rings Late Models: #21H David Hilliker

Main Street Seed and Supply IMCA Modifieds: #7D Myron DeYoung

Elgin Pro Stocks: #21 Steven Hilliker

Auburn Hotel Bar and Grill Street Stocks: #7R Dave Newcomb


David Hilliker picks up first win of the season


07/10/2015 (Auburn, MI) On a beautiful Friday night at Tri-City Motor Speedway, the kids and the great Lou E. Loon, The mascot of the Great Lakes Loons baseball team, took over the pre-race ceremonies on mascot mayhem night. Lou E. showed the kids and the rest of the fans a good time as he walked around and mingled with all the races fans. Lou E. also rooted on the kids who took on the challenge of the customized box cars races.


The Steven's Cycles Sales and Services Stock Bombers started off the night with qualifying to try and beat the track record set by current point’s leader #09 Jack Freese time of 17.340 seconds. Neither of the drivers that attempted to set the new record were able to break it. #77 Stacie Staszak was able to beat out last week’s feature winner #21 Andy Koczenasz to win an extra $100 for having the fastest time of 18.635 seconds. Along with having the fastest time she was able to start on the pole for the heat race. Even though #84 Rich Lieb was the dominate car in the heat race, he was running an exhibition car and #13 Preston DeShano picked up the heat race win. During the 25-lap special feature event, Lieb once again wad the dominating car, lapping every car in the field but, with him being ineligible to place. It gave the other four drivers a chance to win. #09 Jack Freeze lead the other three car to whole race and was able to pick up his fifth win of the season, increasing his points lead and taking home some extra money, $155. #77 Stacie Staszak would end up in second, followed by #13 Preston DeShano, #21 Andy Koczenasz and #84 Rich Lieb.


Hastings Racing Rings Late Models would take the track next for their 25-lap feature event. #16 Mike Staszak would lead the field to the green flag. Staszak would lead the first lap but, #11 Ryan Lanphierd would find some room in turn one and take the lead. Lanphierd would lead close to the halfway point when point’s leader and the winner of the first heat race #21H David Hilliker found some room on the dominant bottom lane and took the lead on lap nine. David was put to the test as last year’s champion and winner of the third heat race #0X Zack Olger and winner of the second heat race #55 Jeep Van Wormer put pressure on the leader. Van Wormers night would come to an end late in the race as he tried running the slippery high side and could not get to stick as he would go sliding off the top coming out of turn two and hit the water barrels on the backstretch damaging his car badly and ending his night with a fourteenth place finish. David had to try and hold off Olger and #24 Hupert for a number of restarts at the end. The bottom line was too hard to beat up high and either Olger or Hupert could get by #21H David Hilliker, giving the point’s leader his first win of the season. #0X Zack Olger would end up in second, #24 Alex Hupert would end up third, follow by #5B Brook Brasington in forth and #11 Ryan Lanphierd in fifth.


Main Street Seed and Supply IMCA Modifieds would go at it next in their 20-lap race. #61 Frank Evans III would lead the field to the green flag and would continue to lead for the first half of the race. Point’s leader, #7D Myron DeYoung, would find some room on the bottom of the track and take the lead on lap ten. The man chasing him in the points standing, #20W A.J. Ward, made his way through the pack and tried making a move on Myron but he had his hands full with #33 Todd Matheson. When it was all said and done nobody could find away pass Myron DeYoung and he would take the #7D to victory lane for the third time this season. Finishing behind him, #20W A.J Ward in second, #33 Todd Matheson third, #71 Brenten DeYoung in forth and #776R Rusty Zeigler, who was involved in an early crash rounding out the top five.


The Elgin Pro Stocks would take on the slippery dirt track next in their 20-lap feature as #10B Joe Batts lead the field to the green flag. Batts would not lead the field for long as #K11 Kendall Morrison would take the lead coming out of turn two. Morrison would lead for a couple more laps until past series champion #M65 Rick Spencer found some room on the bottom to take the lead. Spencer would hold to lead for a while then, the man everyone is chasing in the points standings and last year’s champion #21 Steven Hilliker does what he does best, takes his time through the pack and finding himself in the lead on lap fourteen. After he captured the lead nobody could keep up with him. #21 Steven Hilliker picks up his lucky number seventh win of the year and complete the Hilliker double as David Hilliker pick up a win earlier in the night in the Late Models. #M65 Rick Spencer would end up in the second position behind Steven Hilliker followed by #10 Brent Reil in third, #27 Timmy Near in fourth and #93 John Robbins in fifth.


We rounded out the night with the always exciting Auburn Hotel Bar and Grill Street Stocks in an action packed 20-lap race. #88 Floyd Schalk would lead the field to the green and hold the lead for just over one-fourth of the race. Past winner this year #57 T.J. Gilbert would make a quick climb to the front and would find some room on the smooth bottom lane and take the lead on lap five. Gilbert could only hold on to the lead for so long as last week’s winner #7R Dave Newcomb would be one of the only drivers all night to be able to be under control on that top side in turn one and two and would take the lead on lap nine. Last year’s champion and current points leader #28 Jared Rizer would try his hardest to get below Newcomb but could not do it as #7R Dave Newcomb would pick up a Street Stock leading third win of the season. #28 Jared Rizer would finish in second followed by #57 T.J. Gilbert, #67 Ryan Fitzgerald, and #X5 Eric Lake would round out the top five.


You won't want to miss next week action packed show on July 17th as the Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt make their final appearance of 2015 at Tri-City Motor Speedway to race at the fast 3/8 mile dirt track and also try to beat the track record. Make sure you arrive early to claim the best seats in the house for a fun and exciting packed night. Also the IMCA Modifieds, Pro Stock, Street Stocks and Bomber Stocks will be in action as well.


Then on July 24th is the 2nd annual Faster Pastor race. You will see many pastors racing for a chance to being home the gold and bring home some cash for a charity of their choice. Also the Street Stock will go 33-laps of great racing action and $555 to the winner and $105 to start the A-main 3-wide. For more information on these events, future events and other information on drivers or the track, visit www.tricityracetrack.com.


Subscribe to comments feed Comments (0 posted)

total: | displaying:

Post your comment

Please enter the code you see in the image:

  • email Email to a friend
  • print Print version
  • Plain text Plain text
Tagged as:
Image gallery
Rate this article
Powered by SCW CMS v4.5.2