Home | Race Tracks | Tri-City Motor Speedway | 07/03/2015 Mid-Season Championship Winners

07/03/2015 Mid-Season Championship Winners

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font
07/03/2015 Mid-Season Championship Winners

Tri City Motor Speedway

Contact: Steve Puvalowski

Phone: 989-316-6804

E-mail: steve@tricityracetrack.com


For Immediate Release


07/03/2015 Mid-Season Championship Winners

Hastings Racing Rings Late Models:  #6m Dona Marcoullier

Auburn Hotel Bar and Grill Street Stocks: #7r Dave Newcomb

Main Street Seed and Supply IMCA Modified: #20w AJ Ward

Elgin Pro Stocks: #21 Steven Hilliker

Steven’s Cycle Sales and Service Stock Bombers: #21 Andy Koczenasz


TCMS Crown Mid-Season Champions


07/03/2015 (Auburn MI) A fabulous start of the Independence Day weekend was kicked off as over 90 drivers convened on the 3/8ths clay oval at Tri-City Motor Speedway to compete for trophies, cash, and the honor of being a Mid Season Champion.


The Steven’s Cycle Sales and Service Stock Bombers had its highest car count of the season as the four and six-cylinder cars started with a half dozen starting the feature event.  Dash and heat race winner #21 Andy Koczenasz would jump out front at the drop of the green flag and was able to hold off #77 Stacie Stazak, #13 Preston Deshano, #23 Henry Ritter, and #7 Kenny Winnet for the feature win.


New Lothrop driver, #86 Scott Clifford grabbed the lead from the pole position in the Hasting Racing Rings Late Model feature before being passed by rookie #41x Jesse Playter.  Playter, who finished second the previous week, was looking like he could be on his way to his first feature win.  However, with a long green flag run, Playter found himself catching the tail of the 20 car field.  This allowed Houghton Lake native and 11th place starting #6m Dona Marcoullier the opportunity to weave his way to the front and wrestled the lead away from Playter with two laps remaining.  A late caution would bunch the field, but Marcoullier would have no problem holding on to his lead and took another TCMS win.

#0x Zack Olger would take advantage of the restart and finish second.  He was followed by Playter, #0p Kris Patterson Jr., and point leader #21 David Hilliker.  Clifford would have to settle for a 12 place finish.

Heat gold was captured by #4t Andrew Terrill, Marcoullier, and Olger.  The B-main was settled by #9w Isaac Wolfgang.  The dash winner was Patterson Jr.


The Elgin Pro Stocks feature saw veteran #91 Gary Shank shoot out to the early advantage in the 20-lap affair.  However, as we have seen a number of times this season, #21 Steven Hilliker was able to manipulate the slick track and take the lead on lap six.  He and Shank looked to have the top two spots wrapped up.  However, contact between Hilliker and the lapped car of #10b Joe Batts would slow down the field for a shootout for the final laps.  That caution did not stop Hilliker from taking his sixth feature win of the season.  However, the late restart cost Shank the runner up position as last place starting #21d Darren Mularz, #M65 Rick Spencer would shuffle Shank back to a fourth place finishing position.  Heat race and dash winner #93 John Robbins would finish the feature in fifth spot.  Hilliker also won his heat race.


Main Street Seed and Supply IMCA Modifieds had an exciting 20-lap feature event. Heat race winner #36 Rich Young would lead the opening lap before pole sitter #61 Frank Evans III tried his hand at the front of the field.  By lap four, Midland’s #42 Craig Vance, who had won his heat race earlier,  had worked his way to the lead by using the bottom groove.  He would lead until lap twelve as #20w AJ Ward used the high side momentum to carry his machine to the point.  Ward would cruise to his victory for the first time in five weeks.  Vance would complete the race in second and was followed by #19f Joe Fowler, B-Main winner #7d Myron DeYoung, and dash winner #4s Toby Steele made up the remainder of the top five.  Young would finish ninth while Evans was forced to retire early and finished twentieth.  #33 Todd Matheson won his heat and finished seventh in the feature.


Last week’s feature winner #x5 Eric Lake would start his evening by winning the 4-car dash in the Auburn Hotel Street Stock class.  Defending champion and current point leader #28 Jared Rizer, #7r Dave Newcomb, and #57 TJ Gilbert would win their qualifying heats to guarantee their spots in the 20-lap feature.  Pole Sitter #74 Andre Bergevin would lead lap one of the fast and furious event before #3c Mitch Clements would take his turn at the front.  Clements would concede that lead on lap six when  Newcomb would make the inside pass for the top spot.  Newcomb would not be challenged and took home his second feature win of the season.  Clements, Gilbert, Rizer, and #75s Toby Strong filled in the rest of the top five finishing positions.  Lake suffered mechanical issues which left him eighteenth in the finishing order. Bergevin would have to settle for tenth.  The B-main was captured by #18L Joe Cunningham.


This Friday we hope to see you and the family at TCMS for our Mascot Mayhem!  Mascots from around the Mid Michigan area will be onhand causing craziness as well as kids racing customized box cars!  In addition, the Stevens Cycle Sales and Service Stock Bombers will be racing for a $155 top prize ($55 to start) in their 25-lap feature. Late Models, IMCA Modifieds, Street Stocks, and Pro Stocks will be in action, too!  Admission is just $14 per adult.  55yrs or better $13, 7-13 yrs old $8.  6 and under FREE.  Mark your calendars on July 17th as the Sprints on dirt make their final appearance at TCMS for 2015. Check out www.tricityracetrack.com for more details!



Subscribe to comments feed Comments (0 posted)

total: | displaying:

Post your comment

Please enter the code you see in the image:

  • email Email to a friend
  • print Print version
  • Plain text Plain text
Tagged as:
Image gallery
Rate this article
Powered by SCW CMS v4.5.2