Home | Race Tracks | Crystal Motor Speedway | The Memorial Day weekend at Crystal Motor Speedway was forecast to be a rainy affair, but the sun prevailed

The Memorial Day weekend at Crystal Motor Speedway was forecast to be a rainy affair, but the sun prevailed

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font
The Memorial Day weekend at Crystal Motor Speedway was forecast to be a rainy affair, but the sun prevailed


The Memorial Day weekend at Crystal Motor Speedway was forecast to be a rainy affair, but the sun prevailed, allowing both nights of racing to be placed in the books. A full crowd and over 135 plus cars were on hand for both events.

The Saturday night portion of the weekend kicked off with Scott Baker overtaking Carl Ries for the win in the Kentucky Fried Chicken Late Models. Tom Dusen came home third, followed by Ryan VanderVeen, Rachel Carpenter, Josh Borton, Kevin Reeve,  Brennan Bowen, Scott Phillips, and Milt Montgomery. Borton and Ryan Kent advanced by winning B-Mains, with heats being won by Taylor Wiles, Dusen, and Baker.

The Michigan Traditional Sprints made their first appearance of 2017 sporting 24 cars. The feature saw Steve Irwin and Thomas Meseraull battle for the lead until Irwin was caught up in a spin. Meseraull went on to win over Gregg Dalman, Michael Burkin, Joe Bares, and Mike Galadja. Frank Neill took the B Main with heats going to Meseraull, Irwin, and Burkin.

AJ Ward won a very competitive Lane Automotive IMCA Modified feature over a strong running Austin Wonch. Brenten DeYoung came home third, followed by Myron DeYoung, Chad Wernette, Kody Johnson, Jerry Hunt, Casey Tasker, Chris Higgins, and Vern Buskirk. Chance Allen took the B Main with Heats going to Johnny DeYoung Jr., Ward, and Brenten DeYoung.

Jasen Wiley came from his ninth place starting position to win the Street Stock feature over Doug McKeown Sr., Ryan Alexander, Joel Field, Tony Vinton, Dennis Parker Jr., Kevin Rohn, Dan Soblesky, Gabe Geselman, and Richard Adams. Tim DeGroft Jr. and Wiley scored heat wins. 

The Port City Racing Pro Stock feature was a barn burner with Mike VanderMark Jr. edging out Nate Jones for the win. Josh Loomis was a close third, followed by Derek Schestag, Eric Baird, Blake Hollenbeck, Jaramia Richards, Ryan Teeter, Kyle Prochazka, and Matt Muha. Jeramie Raby and VanderMark Jr beat out their respective competition for heat wins. 

Matt Pickard continued his dominance of the 2017 Engine Pro Pro Truck division by coming up from his ninth place starting position to win over Brody Bowser, Jim Beltz, Chris Malek, Kenny Dittenber, Dave Peters, Mickey Currier, Curtis Rice, Rob Putt, and Jason Omans. Bowser and Beltz picked up victories in the heats. 

Sunday was forecast to be a rainy day, but at the drop of the opening green flag, there was nothing but sunshine. In a weekend of great racing, the KFC Late Model affair stood alone as the best of the holiday show. While there was some great racing throughout the field, the race for the lead was nothing but poetry. Ryan Lanphierd had started on the pole but a few laps in, Ryan VanderVeen was there to take it away.

The lead went back and forth the entire race, the pair running side by side, clean and exciting. With the whole crowd on its feet in the final couple laps, VanderVeen made a final charge for the lead, but Lanphierd held him off for the win. Josh Borton scored the third place finish, followed by Scott Baker, Dean Huizenga, Drew Wilkerson, Taylor Wiles, Carl Ries, Logan Love, and Tom Dusen. Rachel Carpenter grabbed the B Main, with heats falling to Borton, Amanda Wing, and Baker.

Brady Hollenbeck started on the pole of the Lane Automotive IMCA Modified feature and then fought the entire event trying to fend off the field to keep it. When the checker fell, Hollenbeck claimed his first feature win of 2017 over Calvin Stemler, John DeYoung Jr., Brenten DeYoung, Austin Wonch, AJ Ward, Kody Johnson, Nick Stormzand, Myron DeYoung, and Gary VanderMark. Chance Allen advanced by winning the B Main while heat wins fell to VanderMark, Ward, and Stormzand.    

It's been a bit since George Wease had won a Street Stock feature despite a couple of good runs. He fixed that situation Sunday night by taking an early lead and then holding off Dennis Parker Jr. and Jasen Wiley for the win. Tony Vinton scored fourth, followed by Gabe Geselman, Kevin Rohn, Ryan Alexander, Time DeGroft, Aaron Mieske, and Jeremy McCracken. Joel Field and Wiley posed for heat win photos.

The Races On The Web Flinn Stock feature was a battle between Rusty Sowles and Allen Roszell. Sowles looked to be the car to beat, but Roszell motored to the front from the seventh position to take the lead and the win. Cory Baker clocked in with third, followed by Draven Grosvenor, Rodney Ray, Kolby Rohn, Matthew Gehoski, Brad Hall, Robert Goodall, and Collin Schafer. Schafer and Sowles took preliminary heat wins.

Jeremy Spencer capped his racing weekend by winning the Port City Racing Pro Stock feature after Mike VanderMark had to retire from the event with mechanical issues. VanderMark had started at the rear of the event and had worked his way to third with eyes on taking the lead, but with about five to go, he pulled into the pits. This left Spencer to hold back Kyle Prochazka for the win. Eric Baird was close behind, followed by Jeramie Raby, Josh Loomis, Derek Schestag, Ryan Teeter, Jaramia Richards, John Wills, and Matt Muha. Baird and Spencer put heat wins in their record books.

Brody Bowser started on the pole of the Engine Pro Pro Truck feature and held on for the win despite charges from Mickey Currier and Matt Pickard. Kenny Dittenber brought home a fourth place finish, followed by Paul Grosnickle, Jim Beltz, Curtis Rice, Dave Peters, Chris Malek, and Jason Omans. Pickard and Bowser also won their heat events.

The Greenville Daily News Mini Wedge features saw Zayden Buskirk win the six to nine-year-old division over Lilyann Montgomery, Mikah Kurkowski, Mason VanderVeen, Eli Fellows, Preston Mieske, June Dora, and Jazzlyn Hale. Buskirk had also won his heat. In the ten to fourteen division, Riley Bowen prevailed over Brent Wonch, Rylee Knoll, Andrew Bogart, Dillon Kohn, Zevon Nemetz, and Corcoran Schmitz. Knoll won the opening heat event.

Next week at Crystal Motor Speedway is a full show with all six regular divisions. Gates open at 4:30 and adults are $12, and kids 5-11 are $5. Pit passes are $25. Further information can be obtained by calling eh track office at 989.235.5200 or visiting the website at


Subscribe to comments feed Comments (0 posted)

total: | displaying:

Post your comment

Please enter the code you see in the image:

  • email Email to a friend
  • print Print version
  • Plain text Plain text
Tagged as:
Image gallery
Rate this article
Powered by SCW CMS v4.5.2