Home | Race Tracks | Crystal Motor Speedway | Saturday night at Crystal Motor Speedway was the annual Janet Zeigler Memorial 'Yes 2 Kids Night'

Saturday night at Crystal Motor Speedway was the annual Janet Zeigler Memorial 'Yes 2 Kids Night'

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font
Saturday night at Crystal Motor Speedway was the annual  Janet Zeigler Memorial 'Yes 2 Kids Night'


Saturday night at Crystal Motor Speedway was the annual  Janet Zeigler Memorial 'Yes 2 Kids Night' in honor of the long-time track worker. Kids were able to come on the track to ride a lap with one of their favorite drivers.

Kevin Rohn lead the opening lap of the Street Stock division as traffic getting four wide behind him on the first lap. Will Stanley was able to move alongside Rohn and then pass him on lap four to take the lead. From there, it was clear sailing as Stanley began to lap cars in the back of the field. He went on to take the event over Ryan Alexander, Rohn, Jasen Wiley, Dustin Weber, Doug McKeown, George Wease, Roger Flinn III, Timothy DeGroft Jr., and Gabe Geselman.  Richard Adams took the B Main with Alexander, Rohn, and Scott Haney taking home heat wins.

Logan Arntz lead Scott Phillips and Ryan VanderVeen in the early going of the KFC Late Model feature. About half way, Greg Gokee moved to second with VanderVeen and Phillips still following. VanderVeen went high coming out of turn four to take second. Kevin Reeve moved into fourth to challenge Gokey for third just as VanderVeen went up and around Arntz for the lead. VanderVeen held his lead over the field and went on to take his first 2017 Late Model feature at CMS, followed by Gokey, Scott Baker, Arntz, Reeve. Scott Phillips, Josh Borton, Milt Montgomery, Amanda Wing, and Dave Bowen. The B-Main was won by Kenny Playter while heats were claimed by Tom Dusen, Baker, and Arntz.

Races On The Web Flinn Stock division Cory Baker jump out front of the pack with Draven Grosvenor and Collin Schafer with a significant lead for the first couple laps until a caution for a spin bunched the field. When the green returned, Schafer took the point and was out front with a wide lead. He went on to win over Ronald Fuhrman, Matt Taylor, Grosvenor, Allen Roszell, Cory Baker, Jerry Powell, Kolby Rohn, Brent Wonch, and Brad Hall. Devon Wiley and Rusty Sowles posed for heat win photos.

Mike VanderMark Jr. jumped out front early in the Port City Racing Pro Stock feature with Blake Hollenbeck and Don Rohn following. Three laps in, Rohn slowed coming down the front stretch with a heating issue, bringing out the caution. VanderMark resumed the lead when the green returned with Hollenbeck and Derek Schestag in tow. VanderMark quickly pulled away from the field and began lapping cars on his way to the checkered flag to grab the win. Eric Baird grabbed second, followed by Hollenbeck, Schestag, Jeramie Raby, Jeremy Spencer, Ryan Teeter, Jaramia Richards, Josh Kunisch, and Matthew Muha. Hollenbeck and VanderMark took preliminary heat events.

Brenten DeYoung lead the opening laps of the Lane Automotive IMCA Modified IMCA feature with Austin Wonch and Mitchell Hunt following. Rusty Zeigler brought the event to a halt as he went off the turn one berm. When racing resumed, Wonch pulled along side and then in front of DeYoung to take the lead with Hunt moving to second. The two stayed in those positions for most of the race. Coming out of four for the checker, Hunt mounted one last challenge but Wonch but went on to win the event over Hunt, Ward, Myron DeYoung, Brenten DeYoung, John DeYoung Jr., Kody Johnson, Mike Shanteau, Chris Higgins, and Fred Enos. Chad May made the feature by winning the B Main while Hunt, Gary VanderMark, and Wonch chalked up heat wins.

Scott Harris lead the field of the Engine Pro Pro Truck event with Ashlee Scott on his bumper. A couple of successive cautions thinned a couple of participants and sending several others to the rear of the field. The next green saw Scott with Gary Peters and Paul Grosnickle in second and third. Peters slipped under Scott to take the lead, pulling Matt Pickard into second.  At the half way point, Pickard went low to take the lead from Peters with Scott and Grosnickle in third and fourth. Pickard motored away from the rest of the pack and went on to win over Peters, Grosnickle, Chris Malek, Ashlee Scott, Jim Beltz, Curtis Rice, Rob Putt, Jason Omans, and Darin Lund. Rice and Pickard won the early heat races.

Next week at Crystal Motor Speedway is Veterans Night and the 'Relay for Life Fundraiser.' Vets get into the grandstands with a presentation of military ID. Pit gates open at 4:30 with the main gates opening at 5 PM. Adults are $12, kids 5-11 are $5, and pit passes are $25. Further information may be obtained by calling the track office at 989.235.5200 or visiting the website at


Subscribe to comments feed Comments (0 posted)

total: | displaying:

Post your comment

Please enter the code you see in the image:

  • email Email to a friend
  • print Print version
  • Plain text Plain text
Tagged as:
Image gallery
Rate this article
Powered by SCW CMS v4.5.2