Home | Race Tracks | Columbus Motor Speedway | HILL, GRAY, VINSON, McELFRESH AND ROSE CONQUER COLUMBUS


Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font



July 12, 2014


Donnie “Zero” Hill captured his fifth NASCAR Whelen All American Series late model feature of 2014 Saturday at Columbus Motor Speedway. Starting fifth, Hill avoided a first lap shunt that eliminated fast qualifier Chad Pendleton, and powered around early leader Bill Browning to claim victory in the evening’s main event.


Browning snatched top spot from the outset of the 35-lap O'Reilly Auto Parts late model event with Landon Sciacca and Matthew Parsons in hot pursuit. Parsons, looking for his first victory of the 2014 campaign, disposed of Sciacca as three laps went up on the NASCAR scoreboard but he had problems of his own as the eventual winner had started fifth and was on a mission. He pulled his Architect Glass racer into the outside lane and swept past Parsons on lap-6. He then immediately took on Browning and by the eighth tour of the third-mile paved oval Hill was out front and pulling away. Browning was left to defend his position from Parsons who had Kyle Purvis shadowing his every move.  As Hill continued to put distance between himself and Browning the three-car battle for the runner-up position had the crowd captivated. Purvis, known for his high side antics, challenged Parsons while Parsons went about pressuring Browning. In the end however is Hill claiming a straightaway victory over Browning, Parsons, Purvis and Sciacca.


Shawn Gray claimed his second Columbus modified feature contest charging from ninth starting position and then summarily checking out on the field. Early on in the 30-lap contest it was Eddie Vallette holding court but when mechanical woes slowed his racer Donald Parsons was there to pick up the pieces. Pulling ahead on lap-5, all eyes were trained on Gray and his second groove two step, picking off competitors one by one. Overpowering Brian Whetnall to claim the second six spot laps into the contest, Gray set out after Parson. Closing quickly, he went to the top side pulling ahead for good on lap-11 and then dialed up his home ZIP Code. Distancing himself from Parsons, the early leader came under pressure from Terry Humphrey. Humphrey shadowed Parsons from the midpoint on in the 30-lap affair pulling even on several occasions. Unable to complete the past, however, the current point leader was forced to settle for third at the stripe behind Gray and Parsons. Sean MacNealy and Ethan Mullet rounded out the top five spots.


Ralph Vinson bypassed early pacesetter James Hopkins seven laps into the sports stock main event and went on to victory in an exciting finish over James Harding. Current point Chris Meier came home third in the 25-lap affair followed by Jeremiah English and Dennis Middleton


In keeping with much of the evening’s theme of first or second fast qualifiers claiming victory, Jim McElfresh set quick time in the crazy compact feature and raced home first in the finale.  Starting last in the crazy compact feature the gregarious gaucho weaved his way through traffic to register the win. Cecil Collins was a distant second ahead of Michael Robison, Dan Kalmiar and Corey Kyer as the checkered flag was unfurled.


Ty Rose slipped past Dustin Sword 10-laps into the Tri State legend car finale and was never headed in route to the victory. Sword held off Joey Greening for second spot at the checkered followed by Gerad Miller and Zach Miller.






Late Model


Fast Time:  Chad Pendleton

Dash: 1) Matt Parsons 2) Chad Pendleton 3) Donnie Hill 4) Kyle Purvis    

Heat:   1) Burgess White 2) Bill Cantley 3) George Lindsay 4) Erica Newcome

Heat:   1) Ross Wells Jr. 2) Landon Sciacca 3) Bill Browning 4) Mike Holland 5) Josh Cahill


Feature:  1) Donnie Hill 2) Bill Browning 3) Matthew Parsons 4) Kyle Purvis 5) Landon Sciacca

            6) Ross Wells Jr. 7) Josh Cahill 8) George Lindsay 9) Bill Cantley 10) Jim Hursey

            11) Erika Newcome 12) Burgess White 13) Chad Pendleton 14) Mike Holland



Columbus Modifieds


Fast Time: Shawn Gray

Dash:  1) Ethan Mullet 2) Scott Jones 3) Terry Humphrey 4) Shawn Gray

Heat:  1) Gary Zink 2) Donald Parsons 3) Sean MacNealy 4) Josh Artis 5) Andy Shutts


Feature:  1) Shawn Gray 2) Donald Parsons 3) Terry Humphrey 4) Sean MacNealy

             5) Brian Whetnall 6) Greg Blackburn 7) Gary Zink 8) Josh Artis 9) Andy Shutts

            10) Scott Jones 11) Ethan Mullet 12) Eddie Vallette



Sport Stock


Fast Time: Kenny Simpson

Dash: 1) Bruce Holmes 2) Steve Karnes 3) Kenny Simpson 4) James Harding

Heat:   1) Jeremiah English 2) James Hopkins 3) Chris Meier 4) Ralph Vinson 5) Lisa Harding






Feature:  1) Ralph Vinson 2) James Harding 3) Chris Meier 4) Jeremiah English

5) Bruce Holmes 6) Dennis Middleton 7) Lisa Harding 8) Steve Karnes

9) Kenny Simpson 10) Mike Litchfield 11) James Hopkins 12) Steve Hursey



Crazy Compact


Fast Time:  Jimmy McElfresh

Feature:  1) Jimmy McElfresh 2) Cecil Collins 3) Michael Robison 4) Dan Kalminer

5) Corey Kyer 6) Richard Lucas 7) David Shull 8) Shawn Vansickle 9) Christian Bullock 10) Dan Disinger 11) Jeremy Menninger 12) Frank Hreha 13) Ryan Smith

14) Charlie Hopeker 15) Gwen Walsh 16) Devin Stansbury 17) Mike Annthony



Tri State Legend

Heat:  1) Ty Rose 2) Dustin Sword 3) Allison Schoch 4) Adam Sturgill 5) Gerad Miller

Heat:   1) Zach Miller 2) Adam Scott 3) Joey Greening 4) Bob Eaton 5) Cody Brown


Feature:  1) Ty Rose 2) Dustin Sword 3) Joey Greening 4) Gerad Miller 5) Zach Miller

            6) Allison Schoch 7) Adam Sturgill 8) Bob Eaton 9) Cody Brown 10) Adam Scott

            11) Chris Schwier




Jeff Nuckles

Columbus Motor Speedway

1841 Williams Road

Columbus, OH  43207


Subscribe to comments feed Comments (0 posted)

total: | displaying:

Post your comment

Please enter the code you see in the image:

  • email Email to a friend
  • print Print version
  • Plain text Plain text
Tagged as:
Rate this article
Powered by SCW CMS v4.5.2