Sponsor Links



(“Showstopper” Meyerhofer captures second late model feature win in three days)

(KAUKAUNA, WI) Aug 8 – Jesse Oudenhoven of Kaukauna snatched the lead early and dodged a handful of cautions to win the super late model feature at Wisconsin International Raceway in Kaukauna Thursday night.

Meanwhile Hilbert’s Mike “Showstopper” Meyerhofer, fresh off a Big 8 Series win in the Dixieland Delight just two nights prior, led wire-to-wire capturing the division’s late model main, holding off a fast closing Braison Bennett in the waning laps.

Veteran Lowell Bennett outdueled Cory Kemkes into the lead at the drop of the green with Sawyer Effertz wrestling the lead away by lap three.

Oudehoven, who started eighth, grabbed the lead on lap 17 and went to work stretching his margin immediately.

Oudenhoven’s big lead was erased with ten laps to go when Bobby Kendall and Maxwell Schultz got together, spinning in turn three. Kendall tapped out, admitting fault in the incident and handing Schultz back his seventh position.

When racing resumed Oudenhoven pulled away to a sizeable lead which was wiped out again one lap later when Sawyer Effertz spun on the backstretch. On the restart Oudenhoven kept Andy Monday at bay and cruised to his second feature flag of ’19 at WIR.

“The car came to life lately here,” Oudenhoven said. “The cooler weather tonight really helped us out. We made some adjustments based on the weather a little bit and it seemed to help. The cautions got a little scary there. It’s always good to bring it home in one piece.”

Earlier in the night Braison Bennett scored his seventh quick time of the ’19 campaign with a lap of 20.393. With his second place feature finish and Bryan Monday’s eighth place feature finish Bennett gained in the division’s points title chase.

Freedom native Kyle Calmes climbed behind the wheel of Pete Berken’s “track mule” in the WIR ¼ mile late model class. Calmes captured one of the division’s 15 lap features. Appleton’s Cory Kemkes claimed the second main event of the division.

Appleton’s David Hoerning was fast out of the box after a nine year absence in the super stock division. Hoerning, who recently purchased a car from Trevor Howard, won both his heat and the feature race in the division. Trailing Hoerning at the checkers were Wayne Sonkowsky, Larry Raygo, Dave Meyerhofer and Rachel Meyerhofer.

Appleton’s Kyle Quella grabbed the lead on an early restart and cruised to his seventh Wisconsin sport truck feature, padding his points lead in the process. Quella has not finished less than third in any feature race at during WIR’s Thursday night action so far this season.

Rookie Anissa Beattie scored her first career feature win in the Sizzlin’ 4 division. The second feature was won by Chilton’s Mitch Meyerhofer, who also captured his first feature flag of the year at WIR.

“Rockstar” Russ Lorbiecki of Sussex captured the Figure 8 feature.

Next Thursday night August 15 will mark the final appearance of the season for the WIR ¼ Mile late models. Racing gets underway at 6:30 p.m. You can check for more information or follow the club’s Facebook page.

SUPER LATE MODEL FEATURE – Jesse Oudenhoven, Kaukauna; Andy Monday, Appleton; Alex Stumpf, Woodville; Maxwell Schultz, Reedsville; Casey Johnson, Edgerton; Brent Strelka, Freedom; Kyle Calmes, Freedom; Bobby Kendall, Montello; Lowell Bennett, Neenah; Randy Schuler, Mequon; Mike Anthony, Appleton; Pete Vandermolen, Oshkosh; Brady Baldry, Omro; Tim Springstroh, Freedom; Cory Kemkes, Appleton; Sawyer Effertz, Darboy; Alex Seidl, Appleton; Michael Hardtke, Robert Younger, De Pere; Taylor Haufschildt, De Pere

HEATS 1) Tim Springstroh; Schuler 2) Effertz; Stumpf

DASH – Monday

FAST TIME: Johnson, 19.285

LATE MODEL FEATURE- Mike Meyerhofer, Hilbert; Braison Bennett, Neenah; Nate Van Wychen, Kaukauna; Brett Wenzel, Two Rivers; Eddie Muenster, Green Bay; Chase Randerson, Oshkosh; Reagan May, De Pere; Bryan Monday, Appleton; Will Timmers, Kaukauna; Jake Zelinski, Darboy; Mike King, Appleton; Matt Wittman, Appleton; Justin Woller, Kimberly

HEAT – Wenzel; Randerson

DASH- King

FAST TIME- Bennett, 20.393

WIR ¼ MILE LATE MODELS FEATURE 1) Calmes; Tom Spierowski, Neenah; Travis Willing, Appleton; Brandon Reichenberger, Appleton; Jerry Schneider, Kaukauna; Corey Kemkes, Appleton; Jake Fuller, Manitowoc; Braison Bennett, Neenah

FEATURE 2) Kemkes; Quella; Reichenberger; Willing; Schneider; Spierowski; Fuller; Bennett (DNS)

FAST TIME – Reichenberger, 15.028

SUPER STOCK FEATURE – David Hoerning, Appleton; Wayne Sonkowsky, Appleton; Larry Raygo, Omro; Dave Meyerhofer, Kaukauna; Rachel Meyerhofer, Brillion; Ed Howard, Kaukauna

HEAT – Hoerning; Raygo

FAST TIME – Dave Meyerhofer, 15.800

SIZZLIN’ 4 FEATURES 1st) Mitchell Opsahl, Freedom; Rick Glaser, Appleton; Heather Wolfgram, Oshkosh; Mitch Meyerhofer, Chilton; Emery Beattie, Little Chute; Larry Belonger, Appleton 2nd) Anissa Beattie, Little Chute; Zach Daverveld, Bucktown; Scott Blanke, Shawano; Emery Beattie, Little Chute; Kurt Schweitzer, Menasha; Mitch Meyerhofer

FAST TIME – Scott Wolf, Appleton 17.910

SPORT TRUCKS FEATURE – Kyle Quella, Appleton; Jason Van Handel, Freedom; Mike Byrge, Fond Du Lac; Bobby Wautier, Denmark; Kylee Vandermoss, Appleton; Dom Sokolik, Fond Du Lac

HEATS 1) Casey Vander Loop, Freedom; Jeff Ludwig, Freedom 2) Kyle Quella; Van Handel

FAST TIME – Taylor Rahn, De Pere 16.422

FIGURE 8 – “Rockstar” Russ Lorbiecki, Sussex

Sponsor Links