Sponsor Links



(Quella captured sixth straight sport truck main after spinning – scores clean sweep as well)

(KAUKAUNA, WI) July 25 – “The Montello Missile” Bobby Kendall nabbed quick timer earlier in the night and passed defending champion Casey Johnson for the lead with 12 laps to go to win the Bruce Mueller All Star Memorial at Wisconsin International Raceway in Kaukauna Thursday night.

In sport truck action Appleton’s Kyle Quella scored his sixth straight feature win capping the victory off with a clean sweep to boot.

Darboy’s Sawyer Effertz outdueled fellow front row starter Jeff Van Oudenhoven into the lead at the drop of the green in the 35 lap late model feature. The contest wasn’t three laps old when the cars of Jesse Oudenhoven, Taylor Vandermoss and Tim Springstroh stacked up in turn four.

When racing resumed Effertz maintained the top spot with Cory Kemkes motoring around Van Oudenhoven into second. Defending champion Casey Johnson followed in Kemkes’ tracks taking second on lap five and wrestling the lead away from Effertz one circuit later.

Johnson wasted no time stretching a comfortable margin while Kyle Calmes moved into second on lap 10.  Johnson’s big lead was erased on lap 15 when Kemkes spun, collecting Lowell Bennett, Van Oudenhoven, John Beale and Taylor Vandermoss.

On the restart Kendall shot into second and sized up Johnson for the lead. Kendall pulled alongside of Johnson’s driver’s door on a couple of occasions, pulling side-by-side on lap 22, taking the lead only to have Johnson wrestle it back on the next circuit. The pair of heavy hitters traded paint and swapped the lead over the next several laps with Kendall assuming the lead and capturing the win.

“It was tight and I knew Casey was going to be fast on that last caution,” said Kendall. “Things weren’t going too good for us early in the season but things have come around for us these last two weeks. This time of the year before the Blue race we always seem to pick up steam. We needed this – our first win of the year.”

Johnson settled for a second place finish, followed by Kyle Calmes, Alex Stumpf and Maxwell Schultz.

Two Rivers’ Brett Wenzel led wire-to-wire to capture the late model feature. Trailing Wenzel at the checkers were Bryan Monday, Braison Bennett, Mike King and Nate Van Wychen.

What made Quella’s victory remarkable was he was sent to the tail of the field early on for being involved in a spin. The second-generation racer muscled his way inside of Kylee Vandermoss with two laps to go to get the win.

Quella also pulled double duty racing in the WIR ¼ mile late models as well.

Menasha’s Peter Wilz fought off Josh Mueller and Randy Rahn for much of the contest before capturing the super stock main event. Mueller took second followed by Jeff Treml, Rachel Meyerhofer and Rahn, who slid off the track into the grass on the backstretch while challenging for the lead.

Menasha’s Tom Schweitzer snuck past Emery Beattie with one lap to go to win the second Sizzlin’ 4 feature. Two Rivers Steve Van Oudenhoven captured the first division’s feature.

In WIR ¼ mile late model action Neenah’s Rick Spoo and Appleton’s Brandon Reichenberger split the 15 lap features.

“The Showstopper” Mike Meyerhofer of Hilbert emerged triumphant in the Figure 8 main event, beating out former champion Craig Vanderwettering and “Rock Star” Russ Lorbiecki at the line.

Next Thursday night August 1 NAPA Ball Auto & Truck presents the Blue race in the 3rd and final leg of the 48th annual Red, White & Blue state championship series. A 70 lap super late model feature will highlight the evening. Racing gets underway at 6:30 p.m. You can check for more information or follow the club’s Facebook page.

SUPER LATE MODEL FEATURE – Bobby Kendall, Montello; Casey Johnson, Cambridge; Kyle Calmes, Freedom; Alex Stumpf, Woodville; Maxwell Schultz, Reedsville; Andy Monday, Appleton; Brent Strelka, Freedom; Lowell Bennett, Neenah; Sawyer Effertz, Darboy; Randy Schuler, Mequon; Alex Seidl, Appleton; Michael Anthony, Appleton; Pete Vandermolen Jr., Oshkosh; Cory Kemkes, Appleton; Mickey Schallie, Darboy; Jeff Van Oudenhoven, Appleton; John Beale, Verona; Taylor Vandermoss, Appleton; Jesse Oudenhoven, Kaukauna; Tim Springstroh, Freedom

SEMI-FEATURE- Schallie; Anthony; Pete Vandermolen; Beale; Corey Manders, Hilbert; Brady Baldry, Omro; Taylor Haufschildt, De Pere; Trevor Vandermolen, Oshkosh; Robby Younger, De Pere; Michael Hardtke, Kewaunee

HEATS 1) John Beale, Madison; Michael Anthony, Appleton 2) Strelka; Monday

DASH – Johnson

FAST TIME: Kendall, 1.424

LATE MODEL FEATURE- Brett Wenzel, Two Rivers; Bryan Monday, Appleton; Braison Bennett, Neenah; Mike King, Appleton; Nate Van Wychen, Kaukauna; Matt Wittman, Appleton; Tim Springstroh, Freedom; Chase Randerson, Oshkosh; Reagan May, De Pere; Justin Woller, Appleton; Jake Zelinske, Appleton; Pete McVey, Menasha; Randy Yaeger, Appleton; Will Timmers, Kaukauna; Eddie Muenster, Green Bay

HEAT – Randerson; King

DASH- Muenster

FAST TIME- Van Wychen, 20.403

SUPER STOCK FEATURE – Peter Wilz, Menasha; Josh Mueller, Bucktown; Jeff Treml, Greenleaf; Rachel Meyerhofer, Brillion; Randy Rahn, Brillion

HEAT – Wayne Sonkowsky, Appleton; Rachel Meyerhofer

FAST TIME – Rachel Meyerhofer, 15.820

WIR ¼ MILE LATE MODEL FEATURES 1) Rick Spoo, Neenah; Corey Kemkes, Appleton; Brandon Reichenberger, Appleton; Jerry Schneider, Kaukauna; Tom Spierowski, Neenah 2) Reichenberger; Kemkes; Travis Willing, Appleton; Schneider; Spoo

SIZZLIN’ 4 FEATURES 1ST) Steve Van Oudenhoven, Two Rivers; Heather Wolfgram, Oshkosh; Scott Wolf, Appleton; Jake Peters, Shiocton; Larry Belonger, Appleton 2ND) Tom Schweitzer, Menasha; Emery Beattie, Little Chute; Scott Wolf, Appleton; Tyler Lind, Appleton; Peters

FAST TIME – Belonger, 17.855

SPORT TRUCKS FEATURE – Kyle Quella, Appleton; Kylee Vandermoss, Appleton; Bobby Wautier, Denmark; Cody Vander Loop, Freedom; J.J. Vander Loop, Freedom

HEATS 1) J.J. Vander Loop, Freedom; Beth Craig, Appleton 2) Kyle Quella; Vandermoss

FAST TIME – Sussex

Sponsor Links