Sponsor Links




(Appleton racer doubles up on feature wins – also captures a WIR quarter-mile late model feature)

(KAUKAUNA, WI) July 18 – Andy Monday kept the promise he gave track announcer Matt Panure before opening night ceremonies at Wisconsin International Raceway in Kaukauna.

Not only did Monday capture the 35 lap super late model feature, but the Appleton driver also captured one of two 15 lap WIR ¼ mile late model features as well, guest driving the Cory Kemkes car.

Monday jumped into the lead at the drop of the green in the 35-lap contest. Fellow front row starter Jesse Oudenhoven tailing him. The pair pulled away in the early going only to have Freedom’s Kyle Calmes catch the duo and make it a three car scrum for the lead.

With 12 laps in the books last week’s winner Schultz caught up with the trio and the quartet ran nose-to-tail for the next several circuits. At the event’s halfway point Oudenhoven took a look inside of Monday on a couple of occasions and with 13 laps remaining the lead duo once again began pulling away from the field to settle the score. Monday was simply too tough for Oudenhoven and scored the “W.”

“We’ve been really struggling with qualifying with this car,” Monday said. “But our crew has been working hard and this car seems to be real strong on long runs. Tonight we proved that. Jesse (Oudenhoven) had a good restart but then he had a slight bobble so that helped a little bit.”

Oudenhoven hung on for second, with Calmes taking home third place money. Defending champion Casey Johnson came out on top of a three car scrum with Jeff Van Oudenhoven and Maxwell Schultz to take fourth. Van Oudenhoven rounded out the top five finishers.

Oshkosh’s Chase Randerson led every lap from the drop of the green and scored his first career late model feature.

“We lucked out and started up front and I never looked back,” Randerson said. “I’m stoked for winning this first one. I’ve gotten a lot of help from my uncle Jim and others. The conversion from dirt has been interesting but we’ve improved.”

Braison Bennett took second, followed by Nate Van Wychen, Brett Wenzel and Eddie Muenster.

Defending super stock champion Rachel Meyerhofer held court in the division’s feature, dominating and picking up her first feature flag of ’19. Fast qualifier Wayne Sonkowsky snagged second place, followed by Dave Meyerhofer, Ed Howard and Larry Raygo.

In WIR quarter-mile late model action Andy Monday captured the first main event while Appleton’s Brandon Reichenberger slipped past his dad Mike Reichenberger on a restart with three laps remaining to capture the win.

Appleton’s Kyle Quella continued his dominating ways in the sport truck class, capturing his fifth straight feature win. Little Chute’s Evan Beattie and Appleton’s Jerry Konrad split the 15 lap Sizzlin 4 features.

Kaukauna’s Craig Krueger emerged triumphant in the Figure 8 main event.

Next Thursday night July 25 WIR will host the PCMC /Bruce Mueller All Star Memorial. The WIR ¼ Mile late models will also compete. Racing gets underway at 6:30 p.m. You can check for more information or follow the club’s Facebook page.

SUPER LATE MODEL FEATURE – Andy Monday, Appleton; Jesse Oudenhoven, Kaukauna; Kyle Calmes, Freedom; Casey Johnson, Cambridge; Jeff Van Oudenhoven, Appleton; Brent Strelka, Freedom; Maxwell Schultz, Reedsville; Michael Anthony, Appleton; Grant Griesbach, Pewaukee; Alex Stumpf, Woodville; Pete Vandermolen Jr., Oshkosh; Corey Manders, Hilbert; Randy Schuler, Mequon; Alex Seidl, Appleton; Trevor Vandermolen, Oshkosh; Sawyer Effertz, Darboy; Michael Hardtke, Kewaunee;  Bobby Kendall, Montello; Lowell Bennett, Neenah; Taylor Vandermoss, Appleton

HEATS 1) Stumpf; Vandermoss 2) Effertz; Oudenhoven

DASH – Schultz

FAST TIME: Johnson, 19.397

LATE MODEL FEATURE- Chase Randerson, Oshkosh; Braison Bennett, Neenah; Nate Van Wychen, Kaukauna; Brett Wenzel, Two Rivers; Eddie Muenster, Green Bay; Mike King, Appleton; Reagan May, De Pere; Matt Wittmann, Appleton; Justin Woller, Appleton; Will Timmers, Kaukauna; Randy Yaeger, Appleton; Bryan Monday, Appleton; Tarra Springstroh, Waupun

HEAT – Randerson; May

DASH- Van Wychen

FAST TIME- Bennett, 20.533

WIR ¼ MILE LATE MODEL FEATURE 1) Andy Monday; Brandon Reichenberger, Appleton; Travis Willing, Appleton; Tom Spierowski, Neenah; Rick Spoo, Neenah 2) Brandon Reichenberger; Mike Reichenberger, Appleton; Spierowski; Andy Monday; Spoo

FAST TIME – Andy Monday, 14.749

SUPER STOCK FEATURE – Rachel Meyerhofer, Brillion;Wayne Sonkowsky, Appleton; Dave Meyerhofer, Kaukauna; Ed Howard, Kaukauna; Larry Raygo, Omro

HEAT – Rachel Meyerhofer; Jeff Treml, Greenleaf

FAST TIME – Sonkowsky 15.750

SIZZLIN’ 4 FEATURES 1) Jerry Konrad, Appleton; Jake Peters, Shiocton; Steve Van Oudenhoven, Two Rivers; Don Thomson, Neenah; Scott Wolf, Appleton 2) Evan Beattie, Little Chute; Tom Schweitzer, Menasha; Zach Daverveld, Bucktown; Heather Wolfgram, Oshkosh; Van Oudenhoven

FAST TIME – Mike Klein, Appleton, 17.805 n

SPORT TRUCKS FEATURE – Kyle Quella, Appleton; Cody Vander Loop, Freedom; Bobby Wautier, Denmark; Mike Byrge, Fond Du Lac; Kylee Vandermoss, Appleton

HEATS 1) J.J. Vander Loop, Freedom; Casey Vander Loop, Freedom 2) Wautier; Quella

FAST TIME – Quella, 16.441

FIGURE 8 – Craig Krueger, Kaukauna

Sponsor Links