Sponsor Links

NORWAY, Mich. (June 7, 2019) – Four-time and defending Bink’s Coca Cola Late Model Champion Dillon Kralovetz held Fast Qualifier Dan Lindsley at bay Friday night to score his first feature win of the season in the 35-lap main event on Valley Med Fight Night at Norway Speedway.


Other feature winners on the night included Andy Gerwig in the Auto Value Super Stocks, Cody Vanderloop in the Wisconsin Sport Trucks, Gary Thom in the 141 Auto Sales Stock Cars, and Zach Gazda in the MC Signs and Graphics Bangers.


Before setting up his duel with Lindsley in the 35-lap Late Model feature, Kralovetz had to make some early moves to put himself in position to grab the lead on a lap-ten restart.  Kralovetz dipped through traffic early as did Lindsley who started 12th on the grid.


The catalyst for the battle between Kralovetz and Lindsley came on lap ten.  After Bruce White had taken the lead from polesitter Dean Varda, Jason Wells closed in on the top two.  Wells attempted to slide to the bottom line on Varda, who went to protect the line.  The two made contact sending Varda spinning to through the grass.  Both would have to restart at the tail of the field.


On the restart Kralovetz elected to take the high line in the second row with Lindsley behind.  Kralovetz took advantage of the open space to shoot past White and into the lead on lap 11.  One lap later Lindsley followed past White on the outside line.


For the remainder of the race Lindsley kept within one or two car lengths, sizing up the defending Champion at each turn.  However, Lindsley would not be able to muster a challenge before the duo hit lapped traffic and Kralovetz cemented his advantage.


Behind Kralovetz and Lindsley, Scott Stanchina made a late move to take Third, Joey Pontbriand was Fourth, and Brian Stanchina rounded out the Top Five.


The Auto Value Super Stocks also saw a showdown in the final laps of their 30-lap feature race for the win.  Andy Gerwig was able to hold off Ryan Wender to take the checkered flag.


Ironically, Gerwig and Wender tangled early in the race.  Gerwig retained his spot, but Wender was sent to the tail of the field.  Another melee on lap eight claimed victim of all but three drivers on track.  It also ended the night of fast qualifier Tim Schultz Jr.


On the restart Gerwig and Wender stepped away from the pack.  A late spin with just four laps remaining set up one final opportunity for Wender to snatch victory from Gerwig.  Wender would get to the bumper of Gerwig several times, including a firm tap on the back bumper entering turn three on the final circuit.


Gerwig held on and took the feature win with Wender settling for Second.  Kevin Peterson was Third, John Mattia Jr. Fourth, and Adam Faull rounded out the Top Five.


Young Cody Vanderloop decided to make the battle for the win a bit less dramatic in the Wisconsin Sport Truck 20-lap feature.  After picking up his first ever feature win the previous night at Wisconsin International Raceway, Vanderloop showed his strength by seizing the lead on lap seven and cruising to victory.


Drew Habeck took an early lead in the main event and attempted to stretch out his lead over the pack.  Meanwhile, Vanderloop and fast qualifier Brad Barglind were working their way to the front.  After a spin on lap six, Vanderloop took full advantage of a restart by diving to the inside of Habeck and setting up a battle for the lead.


The battle was short-lived as Vanderloop had the preferred line and jumped the top spot.  Barglind followed but was unable to keep pace and later surrendered spots to Habeck and others in lapped traffic.  Habeck did rally to finish Second, Andrew Secrist was Third, Tanner Fickel Fourth, and Barglind Fifth.


In the 141 Auto Sales Stock Cars, the race was more than just a battle to see whose car reigned supreme.  Drivers must not eclipse the 18-second mark during the race, or they will be sent to the tail.  This guideline left drivers being very careful about setting times that may be too fast.


Preston Weddel led most of the 20-lap feature from the pole position.  He was watched throughout the race by Gary Thom who swung to the outside but was careful to not break the time barrier.  However, with pressure from Joe Osterman, Thom decided to rev up over the final laps.


Thom took the lead from Weddel and held off Osterman on the final lap.  His final lap time was 18.047 seconds, a mere blink of an eye from breaking through the time barrier.  Osterman was Second, Weddel Third, Scott Ronski was Fourth, and Bob Schiefelbein rounded out the Top Five.


In the MC Bangers (4 Cylinders) the night belonged to Zach Gazda.  Gazda completed the sweep by setting fast time, winning his heat, and topping the 20-lap feature.


Gazda had to do some work in the heat to get past Dean Bellmore and collect the checkered flag.  In the feature he would have to outduel Ron Linder to take the lead and sail to victory.  Bellmore would find his way to Second in the feature, Linder Third, Sierra Oman was Fourth, and Jim Dallapiazza was Fifth.


Next week at Norway Speedway is Big 10 Sportsbar & Grill and U.P. Cycle and Sport Night featuring Richard’s Supper Club & Motel UTV Race Round 1.  Qualifying is at 5:30 with racing beginning at 7 p.m.




Valley Med Flight Night Results (6/7/19)


Bink’s Coca Cola Late Models

35-Lap Feature: 1. Dillon Kralovetz, Bonduel, Wis.; 2. Dan Lindsley, Norway, Mich.; 3. Scott Stanchina, Iron Mountain, Mich.; 4. Joey Pontbriand, Norway, Mich.; 5. Brian Stanchina, Iron Mountain, Mich.

Dash Winner: Jason Wells, Norway, Mich.

Heat Winner: Bruce White, Spread Eagle, Wis.

Fast Qualifier: Lindsley


Auto Value Super Stocks

30-Lap Feature: 1. Andy Gerwig, Norway, Mich.; 2. Ryan Wender, Upper Pine Creek, Mich.; 3. Kevin Peterson, Marinette, Wis.; 4. John Mattia Jr., Vulcan, Mich.; 5. Adam Faull, Vulcan, Mich.

Dash Winner: Wender

Heat Winner: Gerwig

Fast Qualifie: Tim Schultz Jr., Vulcan, Mich.


Wisconsin Sport Trucks

20-Lap Feature: 1. Cody Vanderloop, Appleton, Wis.; 2. Drew Habeck, Green Bay, Wis.; 3. Andrew Secrist, Florence, Mich.; 4. Tanner Fickel, Neenah, Wis.; 5. Brad Barglind, Kingsford, Mich.;

Heat Winners: Fickel, Casey Vanderlooop, Freedom, Wis.

Fast Qualifier: Barglind


141 Auto Sales Stock Cars

20-Lap Feature: 1. Gary Thom, Aurora, Wis.; 2. Joe Osterman, Niagara, Wis.; 3. Preston Weddel, Crivitz, Wis.; 4. Scott Ronson, Menasha, Wis.; 5. Bob Schiefelbein, Pembine, Wis.

Heats: Brian Massicotte, Norway, Mich.; Weddel

Fast Qualifier: Schiefelbein


MC Bangers (4 Cylinders)

20-Lap Feature: 1. Zach Gazda, Vulcan, Mich.; 2. Dean Bellmore, Hermansville, Wis.; 3. Ron Linder, Norway, Mich.; 4. Sierra Oman, Faithorn, Mich.; 5. Jim Dallapiazza, Norway, Mich.

Heats: Linder, Gazda

Fast Qualifier: Gazda

Sponsor Links