Sponsor Links

SCHULTZ SCORES WIR OPENING NIGHT SUPER LATE MODEL VICTORY (Johnson smashes half-mile slm track record with blistering 18 second lap)


(KAUKAUNA, WI) May 23 – Reedsville’s Maxwell Schultz duckd underneath Jesse Oudenhoven on a late race restart to snag the opening night super late model feature win at The “X” Bar season opener at Wisconsin International Raceway in Kaukauna Thursday night.


Earlier in the night the second-generation driver nailed down an 18 second lap on time trials – the first ever recorded. However defending track champion Casey Johnson of Edgerton one upped Schultz and nailed down a blistering lap of 18.880. Johnson’s mark smashed the old record of 19.017 set by Dalton Zehr back in May, 2017.


Freedom’s Brent Strelka outdueled fellow front row starter Jeff Van Oudenhoven to snatch the lead on the opening circuit of the 35 lap main. “Rowdy Oudy” Jesse Oudenhoven wrestled the top spot away from Strelka on lap five. The hometown driver began building up a comfortable lead with Schultz staying within four to five car lengths as the laps clicked off.


Johnson began slicing his way through the traffic from his ninth starting spot. Johnson worked his way up to fourth by lap 11.


The race was red flagged on lap 14 when the car of Sawyer Effertz dropped rear end grease on the track surface, prompting a lengthly delay.


When racing resumed “Rowdy Oudy” kept the top spot. Johnson slipped inside Kyle Calmes to take third and set his sights on Schultz for second. An amber flew for an Alex Seidel spin two circuits later. On the restart Schultz bolted to the bottom of the track and dove underneath Oudenhoven to grab the lead. Oudenhoven did not surrender the lead without a fight and stayed door-to-door with the Reedsville ace for several circuits.  With eleven laps remaining Schultz poured the coals to his number 34 racer and built up a five car length lead over Oudenhoven and Johnson, who scrapped for second place.


Schultz went the distance and kept all challengers at bay. Johnson scored second at the line, followed by Oudenhoven, Kyle Calmes and Strelka.


“I was pumped when we hit that 18 second lap,” Schultz said in victory lane. “But then Casey got and hats off to him and his crew. That’s one helluva lap. But the feature win pays a helluva lot more than a new track record does. We’ll take that any day!”


In the late model main Green Bay’s Eddie Muenster slipped past Nathan Van Wychen with five laps remaining and went on to win the caution free event. Van Wychen settled for second at the pay window, followed by Brett Wenzel, Bryan Monday and Brian Randerson.


Wrightstown’s Greg “Doogie” Hauser made a triumphant return to racing. After being away from the track for more than a full season due to complications from an accident away from the race track, Hauser came out swinging, winning the 25 lap super stock feature.

In qualifying Hauser smashed the super stock track record of 15.378. Hauser’s circuit eclipsed the old mark set by Fremont’s Dylan Wenzel of 15.508 in 2017.


Fond Du Lac’s Dan Vixmer fought off a tenacious effort from Denmark’s Bobby Wautier to capture the sport truck feature. Sizzlin’ 4 main events were won by and Appleton’s Jerry Konrad and Chilton’s Shawn Bangart.


The late model car count dropped by 2 before qualifying even took place. Veteran Jim Duchow of Appleton and Freedom’s Tarra Springstroh suffered terminal engine problems in hot laps, ending their nights early.


Hilbert’s Mike Meyerhofer captured the Figure 8 feature.


Next week will see a ton of racing on WIR’s half-mile. The ARCA Midwest Tour super late models roll into town on Memorial Day May 27 for the Triple 50’s.  72 hours later Round 2 of Thursday Night Thunder presented by Mad City Roofing, Siding & Windows kicks off at 6:30 p.m. The WIR ¼ mile late models will also be in action. You can check for more information or follow the club’s Facebook page.


SUPER LATE MODEL FEATURE – Maxwell Schultz, Reedsville; Casey Johnson, Edgerton; Jesse Oudenhoven, Kaukauna; Kyle Calmes, Freedom; Brent Strelka, Freedom; Andy Monday, Appleton; Jeff Van Oudenhoven, Appleton; Grant Griesbach, Pewaukee; Alex Stumpf, Woodville; Lowell Bennett, Neenah; Pete Vandermolen, Oshkosh; Randy Schuler, Mequon; Cory Kemkes, Appleton; Bobby Kendall, Montello; Michael Anthony, Appleton; Alex Seidel, Appleton; Corey Manders, Hilbert; Sawyer Effertz, Sherwood; Taylor Vandermoss, Appleton; Tim Springstroh, Freedom


SEMI-FEATURE- Schuler; Kemkes; Seidel; Pete Vandermolen; Mickey Schallie, Darboy; Taylor Haufschildt, De Pere; Michael Hardtke, Kewaunee; Robby Yuenger, De Pere; Trevor Vandermolen, Oshkosh (DNS)


HEATS 1) Alex Seidel, Appleton; Pete Vandermolen, Oshkosh 2) Sawyer Effertz, Sherwood; Andy Monday, Appleton


DASH – Oudenhoven


FAST TIME: Johnson, 18.880 (new track record) old record was set by Dalton Zehr 19.018 set in May, 2017).


LATE MODEL FEATURE-  Eddie Muenster, Green Bay; Nathan Van Wychen, Kaukauna; Brett Wenzel, Two Rivers; Bryan Monday, Appeton; Brian Randerson, Kaukauna; Reagan May, De Pere; Matthew Wittman, Appleton; Mike King, Appleton; Will Timmers, Kaukauna; Nathan Brantmeier, Neenah; Braison Bennett, Neenah; Jim Duchow, Appleton (DNS); Tarra Springstroh, Freedom (DNS)


HEAT – King; Timmers


DASH- Bennett


FAST TIME- Monday, 20.092


SUPER STOCK FEATURE – Greg “Doogie” Hauser, Wrightstown; Larry Raygo, Omro, Dave Meyerhofer, Kaukauna; Jeff Treml, Greenleaf; Rachel Meyerhofer, Brillion; Peter Wilz, Kaukauna


HEAT – Dave Meyerhofer; Trevor Howard, Kaukauna


FAST TIME – Hauser, 15.378 (new track record)


SIZZLIN’ 4 FEATURE 1 – Jerry Konrad, Appleton; Steven Van Oudenhoven, Kaukauna; Scott Wolf, Appleton; Dennis DeBruin, Appleton; Mike Klein, Appleton


FEATURE 2 – Shawn Bangart, Chilton; Larry Belonger, New Holstein; Emery Beattie, Little Chute; Tyler Lind, Grand Chute; Mitchell Opsahl, Freedom


FAST TIME – Klein, 17.746


SPORT TRUCKS FEATURE – Dan Vixmer, Fond Du Lac; Bobby Wautier, Denmark; Kyle Quella, Appleton; Dom Sokolik, Fond Du Lac; Taylor Rahn, De Pere


HEATS 1) Jeff Ludwig, Freedom; Dylan Vandenberg, Kaukauna 2) Wautier; Tanner Fickel, Neenah


FAST TIME – Quella, 16.614


FIGURE 8 – Mike Meyerhofer, Hilbert

Sponsor Links