Sponsor Links

Orrville, Ohio

Saturday, May 11, 2019

By Mike Swanger

   After three weeks of rain outs, the night started out with the sun shining at Wayne County Speedway on White’s Ford night, but as the Malcuit’s Tavern Super Late Model feature was running the last three laps of the race, the rain began to fall and as the McKenzie Concrete Super Stocks took to the track, the moisture became heavier and stopped their race after four laps. Their feature will pick up at that point next week and the JOYRIDE Transportation Mini Stocks will have double features also.

   Before the rains came, the Pine Tree Towing & Recovery Sprints started the action with D J Foos grabbing the top spot from the outside front row with Clay Riney in his tire tracks on the opening lap as the caution would quickly fly for a Mitch Harble and Henry Malcuit tangle in turn four, ending both of their nights. Foos would continue to lead with Riney in pursuit with Trey Jacobs in third until he spun in turn 4 on lap seven. He would later drop out with a flat tire. On the ensuing restart, Andrew Palker would bounce off the turn one guardrail and spin collecting Ryan Broughton, ending Broughton’s race. As the green flag waved again, Wooster’s Dean Jacobs would take third from Ricky Peterson as Riney would challenge Foos for the top spot with Jacobs closing on the front runners. Foos would start to pull away from Riney, who would give up second place on lap 18 to Jacobs as Peterson would also move past the fading Riney. As lapped traffic came into play, Foos would get caught in the low groove in turn three and four behind a couple of back markers and Jacobs, driving the McClure Motorsports #9, used the high side to power past Foos for the lead at the five to go mark. A caution on the next circuit for debris was the only thing to slow Jacobs to the Summit Racing victory circle, where he said ‘I’ve won races all over the country, but there is nothing like winning on your home track.’ Peterson would outduel Foos on the last lap for second while Trevor Baker streaked to fourth in the last four laps to take fourth from his 11th starting position. Jordan Ryan filled out the top five. Steve Butler, Stuart Brubaker and Foos topped the heat wins.

   A pair of Ryan’s, Missler and Markham would bring the Malcuit’s Tavern Super Late Models to the green flag with Missler setting the pace for the opening two laps before Markham would tale over the point. J R Gentry and Doug Drown would follow the two leaders until lap six when Drown took over second and Gentry into third on lap 10. A yellow flag on lap 10 would bunch the field together and Corey Conley would move into 4th on the restart as the top five were tightly packed with Markham in the lead. Another caution two laps later and on this return to green, Conley would suffer a flat tire and he would drop out. As the race would go green the rest of the way, Markham of Asland and his H & T Demolition, The Beer Barrel and Hickory Hollow Concrete #5m, kept Drown at bay as Markham would storm out of the corners as Drown would close in in the corners but could never catch Markham. Gentry would ride in third as the driver on the move the last half of the feature was Cody Scott as he started 20th and picked up the hard charger award as he got by Missler for fourth with two laps to go as Missler finished fifth. ‘The last couple of laps were tricky as the rain started to fall,’ said Markham in the winners circle. Heat winners were Drown, Missler and Gentry.

  The McKenzie Concrete Super Stocks ran four laps of their feature before the rain became to heavy and made the track unraceable. They will pick up at that point next week with John Wilson in the lead. Heat winners were Don Baney, Gary Hensel Jr. and Wilson.

  The JOYRIDE Transportation Mini Stocks will also race their feature next week. Wes Staley, Doug Hensel, Jolene Voshel, her 1st heat win ever, and Gary Hensel Jr. paced the heat wins.

   Next Saturday night, May 18, the World of Outlaw Morton Buildings Late Models will be at Wayne County Speedway for a $10,000 to win 50 lap feature as Brandon Sheppard will be looking to win his third straight WoO win at ‘Orrville’s Historic Oval.’  The McKenzie Concrete Super Stock and the JOYRIDE Transportation Mini Stocks will finish up this weeks races and run a complete program. Pit Gates will open at 2 pm with General Admission gates at 3 pm and racing at 7 pm.

   For more information go to www, or


Saturday, May 11, 2019


Heat   1   Steve Butler, Jordan Ryan, Dean Jacobs, Mitch Harble, Brian Smith, Travis Danford, Brinton Marvel

Heat   2   Stuart Brubaker, Tyler Dunn, Ricky Peterson, Trevor Baker, Henry Malcuit, Ryan Broughton, Ray Miller

Heat   3   D J Foos, Trey Jacobs, Clay Riney, Andrew Palker, Danny Mumaw, William Aumend, Troy Kingan dns

Feature   Dean Jacobs, Ricky Peterson, D J Foos, Trevor Baker, Jordan Ryan, Clay Riney, Tyler Dunn, Stuart Brubaker, Andrew Palker, Danny Mumaw, Brian Smith, Brinton Marvel, Steve Butler, Ray Miller, William Aumend, Travis Danford, Trey Jacobs, Ryan Broughton, Mitch Harble, Henry Malcuit, Troy Kingan


Heat   1   Doug Drown, Ryan Markham, Brad Malcuit, Larry Bellman, Brett Bee, Nick Cox, Jerry Aber, Tom Denzinger dns

Heat   2   Ryan Missler, Matt Irey, Charlie Duncan, Dave Hornikel, Mitch Caskey, Jeromy Misel, Cody Scott, Ashlee Todd

Heat   3   J R Gentry, Corey Conley, Matt Aber, Ben Mott, Craig Hartong, Jason Henderson, Dave Scott Jr., Austin Goon

Feature   Ryan Markham, Doug Drown, J R Gentry, Cody Scott, Ryan Missler, Charlie Duncan, Dave Hornikel, Brad Malcuit, Ben Mott, Mitch Caskey, Matt Aber, Jeromy Misel, Brett Bee, Larry Bellman, Jerry Aber, Craig Hartong, Nick Cox, Jason Henderson, Ashlee Todd, Corey Conley, Austin Goon, Dave Scott Jr., Matt Irey, Tom Denzinger dns


Heat   1   Don Baney, Justin Lorentz, Don Lehman, Curt Zimmerman, Tony Prestier, Paul McVicker, Kevin Ake, Virgil Masters dns

Heat   2   Gary Hensel Jr., Michael Amick, Doug Drown, Nick Humphrey, Mike McElravy, #22, Luke Sprouse, Dan Radtka

Heat   3   John Wilson, David Uhler, Brandon Craver, Don Rutt, James Alleman, James Stanley, Jaret Sams

Feature   To be completed  May 18


Heat   1   Wes Staley, Brad Hensel, Jordan James, Cory Staley, #82, Cory Boyd, Dusty Long

Heat   2   Doug Hensel, Dustin Bedlion, Jon Gamery, Lewis Walters, Matt Short, David Keagy, Brent Boreman

Heat   3   Jolene Voshel, Mitch Reichard, Dale Beckett, Steven Lester, Wyatt Zimmerman, Clayton Evans, Gary Lewis

Heat   4   Gary Hensel Jr., Wayne Newbury, Tyler Wiles, Jimmy Burns, J R Graser, Darrel Taylor, Cody Newbury

B Main    Matt Short, J R Graser, David Keagy, #82, Wyatt Zimmerman dns, Cory Boyd dns, Clayton Evans dns, Darrel Taylor dns, Dusty Long dns, Brent Boreman dns, Gary Lewis dns, Cody Newbury dns

Feature   To be raced  May 18

Sponsor Links