Sponsor Links






(Harris, MI) – More than 200 drivers, car owners, crew members, sponsors, fans and track officials celebrated the 2018 season of racing at Norway (MI) Speedway at Island Resort & Casino Saturday, October 27.


After a fine meal awards were doled out with the respective division champions stealing the spotlight with Bonduel, Wisconsin’s Dillion Kralovetz making track history by winning his fourth straight Coca Cola late model track title. Kralovetz dueled with third generation driver Robby Iverson of Escanaba and Bark River’s Tom Lindquist atop the points most of the year and the crown wasn’t officially decided until the final weekend of racing.


Kralovetz at this time is still undecided if his team will return to compete for a fifth straight track title in ’19.


Menominee’s Dalton Zehr captured the Lena Sod Farm Lap Leader award by leading the most circuits during the year.


Vulcan’s Tim Schultz captured the Auto Value super stock crown. The title was the second-generation driver’s second straight. Schultz squared off all season long with Ryan Wender and Andy Gerwig for a bulk of the season. Schultz plans on defending his title in 2019.


Kingsford’s Brad Barglind collected his first sport truck track title. Barglind’s title was not decided until the final night as he fought Neenah, Wisconsin’s Tanner Fickel right down to the wire on Dickinson County Fair night of racing. Barglind’s crown comes in a class which continues to grow with local talent, and many Upper Michigan and Northern Wisconsin teams are sprouting up in the snowmobile-engine-powered truck division.


Hometown driver Joe Ostermann captured his third 141 Auto Sales & Service sportsman division championship. Two of Ostermann’s main foes throughout the year were Jeff Schettler and Michelle “The Polish Princess” Janczewski. Ostermann has intentions of defending his title in ’19.


In the stock four division Adam Faull of Vulcan collected the track title. Faull tussled most of the year atop the point standings with former division champion Cody Skog and Jake Dolfurd. The stock four track title will be wide open in 2019 as Faull has announced his intentions to move up to the super stock division after purchasing a super stock from Matt Charlebois.


Rookie-of-the-year honors went out to Jordan Chambers (late model), Anthony Schiefelbein (super stock), “Uncle Pete” Fraser (sportsman), Shaun Charnota (stock four) and Andrew Secrist (sport truck). Most improved driver awards went out to Cameron Clifford (late model), Kevin Peterson (super stock), Jeff Schettler (sportsman) and Alex Bellmore (stock four).


The event was emceed by newly-elected DCRA president John Ostermann.


The Dickinson County Racing Association (DCRA) would like to thank the many sponsors who’ve been a part of the weekly Friday night program. They include Island Resort & Casino, Hoosier Tires, Five Star Bodies, The Thirsty Whale Bar & Grill, The Knight Owl Bar & Grill, Pembine Sport & Lawn, DaVape Escape, Grow Maxx, Baker Sign Company, Okler Roofing, Stateline Chevrolet Buick GMC, Wendricks Truss, Bink’s Coca Cola, 141 Auto Sales & Service, Auto Value Parts Stores, Sayklly’s Candies, Iron Range Farm Bureau, Lena Sod Farms, The Big 10 Sports Bar, Pomps Tire Service, Valley Med Flight and Kubick Aviation.


The season opener for 2019 is slated for Friday, May 24 at 7 p.m. Coca Cola late models, Auto Value super stocks, 141 Auto Sportsman and stock 4’s are slated for action weekly with the sport trucks scheduled on an every-other-week schedule. Please continue to check for updates as well as the track’s page on Facebook.

CONFIDENTIALITY NOTICE: This electronic mail transmission and any accompanying documents contain information belonging to the sender which may be confidential and legally privileged. This information is only for the use of the individual or entity to whom this electronic mail transmission was intended. If you are not the intended recipient, any disclosure, copying, distribution, or action taken in reliance on the contents of the information contained in this transmission is strictly prohibited. If you have received this transmission in error, please immediately contact the sender and delete the message. Thank you.

Sponsor Links