Sharon 8/25/18 preview; Mod Tour big blocks, RUSH Mod Tour & more

Sponsor Links


by Mike Leone

Hartford, OH August 22, 2018 After three successful “410” Sprint Car events in August, the month will wrap-up this Saturday night (August 25) with the final Menards “Super Series” event featuring The Mod Tour for the Hovis Auto & Truck Supply Big-Block Modifieds. Also on the card will be the Bicknell Touring Series for the HTMA/Precise Racing Products RUSH Sportsman Modifieds in their “Manufacturers Night” along with the Gibson Insurance Agency Stock Cars, and Summit Racing Equipment Econo Mods in their final night of points. Saturday is Hovis Auto & Truck Supply Night and will also feature the Junior Sprints and power wheels races for kids. Race time is 7 p.m.

After being unable to complete a full night for the first three months of the season, the Big-Block Modifieds were able to get in all three of their scheduled July appearances in. The first two events were under The Mod Tour sanction with Mike Maresca taking the $2,000 “Lou Blaney Memorial” win for his first career Sharon victory on July 7, while three-time track champion, Rex King, Jr. was victorious for $2,000 on July 21. King, Jr. then went back-to-back the following week capturing the non-sanctioned event.

King, Jr. also enters Saturday night at The Mod Tour points leader after sweeping the $4,000 July 20-21 weekend at Lernerville and Sharon. The youngest member of the racing King family has a 30-point lead on his father, Rex, who has a Tour victory this season at Stateline. Jim Rasey, Dave Murdick, Tyler Willard, Rick Regalski, Jr., Mike Maresca, Chris Haines, Kyle Fink, and J.R. McGinley complete the top 10 in points. Eric Rudolph is the only other driver other than King, Jr. to have two wins this season, while other winners include Mat Williamson, Jim Weller, Jr., and Maresca.

Saturday’s 35-lap feature will pay $2,000 to-win. For more information on The Mod Tour, check out their website at The Big-Block Modifieds will return for their final appearance of the season on Friday, September 7 in a non-sanctioned event paying $1,500 to-win.

After being rained out back on June 23, the Bicknell Racing Products Touring Series for the HTMA/Precise Racing Products RUSH Sportsman Modifieds will take place on Saturday in their first of two appearances of the season. Saturday will feature Ohio Intra Express “Shock the Clock” Qualifying at 6:30 p.m. with the fastest in group qualifying receiving $100, which will set the heat race lineups ahead of the $600 to-win feature event. In addition, competing will be eligible for some $19,000 in prizes that will be given away randomly to racers as part of the Series’ “Manufacturers Night”.

Chas Wolbert enters Saturday night on fire winning three straight features and four overall on the season; however, it’s two-time winner, Garrett Krummert, leading the track points by just eight over one-time winner, Josh Deems. Wolbert is third in points with Kole Holden and Jeremy Weaver completing the top five. Last chance B mains have been run the last three weeks, and this year’s average car count has been over 25 per night. Meanwhile, Brandon Ritchey has a two-point lead on Krummert in the Bicknell Tour standings. Wolbert, Kyle Martell, and Justin Shea are third through fifth in those standings. For more on the RUSH Sportsman Modified Touring Series, check out their website at

After having last Saturday night off, the Gibson Insurance Agency Stock Cars return for their season championship event. While rain plagued much of the early season not allowing a Stock Car event to be completed until the June 16 “Penn-Ohio Steel Valley Nationals”, dry weather of late has allowed the Stocks to complete five events since the division’s opener. Two of the five events completed were Penn-Ohio shows with Brent Johnson taking $10,000 on June 16 and Andrew Gordon $1,000 on July 28.

The four regular events saw outsiders Jason Fosnaught, Gordon, Rusty Martz, and Chris Schneider capture wins. That makes five different winners in six events. The top four drivers in points are still looking for their first win of the season. Chris McGuire has just a seven-point lead over Curt J. Bish, who took over runner-up in points following the last event. Four-time track champion, Steve D’Apolito, is third in the track standings, but is only one-point behind Bish. Three-time champion, Mike Clark, and Fosnaught are still mathematically alive for the title in fourth and fifth.

The Econo Mods round out the program in a final tune-up for the $750 to-win “Apple Festival Nationals” event in two weeks. After his fourth win of the season last Saturday night and problems for Ty Rhoades, Jacob Eucker has jumped up to a 17-point lead. Eucker has never won a Sharon title and he’ll have to fend off defending two-time Summit Racing Equipment champion Steve Haefke, who will be looking for his first win of the season. Rhoades is 23 points back in third. Brian Toto and Dustin Demattia, who is in his first season as Sharon regular, are fourth and fifth in the standings.

As a reminder on Saturday for the Stock Cars and Econo Mods, if 24 or more cars are present then the highest purse structure will be offered, and if there are 32 or more cars a non-qualifier will be run.

Pits are open throughout the afternoon on Saturday with pit passes going on sale at 4 p.m., while the main grandstands open at 5. Drivers meeting will be held around 6 p.m. with group qualifying for the RUSH Sportsman Mods at 6:30 followed by heat races at 7 p.m.

Grandstand admission for those 14 and over is $13. Patio seating upgrades are just $5 and fan suite seating upgrades are just $20 over the cost of general admission. In order to reserve either of these ahead of time, call the office Monday through Thursday from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. at 330-772-5481. As always, children under 14 and parking are always FREE! Pit passes are $30. Pit passes for children 12 and under are $20. As a reminder, coolers nor outside food or beverages are not permitted.

There will be no racing over Labor Day weekend. The 89th anniversary season will conclude on Friday and Saturday, September 7-8 with the “Apple Festival Nationals” featuring many of the region’s divisions. More details will be announced soon or check out

Sharon Speedway is owned by the Blaney, Weller, and Kirila Families and is a 3/8-mile dirt track located on Custer-Orangeville Road in Hartford, Ohio near the intersection of Routes 7 & 305. For more information, check out the website at or call 330-772-5481. Become a fan of Sharon Speedway on Facebook at and follow us on Twitter at

Sponsor Links