Saturday night was a regular schedule of all seven divisions at Crystal Motor Speedway, all sponsored by H&H Excavating of Carson City

Sponsor Links

Saturday night was a regular schedule of all seven divisions at Crystal Motor Speedway, all sponsored by H&H Excavating of Carson City. The Michigan Auto Racing Fan Club (MARFC) was on hand, with MARFC members getting in at no charge with a valid membership card. Over 115 cars were in the pits with a full grandstand of race fans.

The KFC Late Model feature event was all Carl Ries as the Blanchard resident took control of his second-place starting position to take the feature over Zack Olger of St. Johns and Rachel Carpenter of Lainsburg. Saranac resident Dave Hartman and David Hilliker of Midland took B Main features while heat events were won by Logan Arntz of Vestaburg, Mike VanderMark Jr, Cedar Springs, and Olger. With the Season Championship just two weeks away, Hilliker holds a 19 point lead over Josh Borton, with Ryan Lanphierd in third place.

Lane Automotive IMCA Modifieds division saw AJ Ward of Ionia move from his tenth place starting position to take the win over Myron DeYoung of Stanton and Brady Hollenbeck of Greenville. DeYoung and Brad Roberts of St. Johns picked up heat events. In the points race, Ward holds a 29 point advantage over Mitchell Hunt with Austin Wonch in the third position, 38 points behind the leader.

The Next Level Graphics & Design LLC Street Stocks feature saw Mickey Currier move up from his twelfth place starting position to take the win over Doug McKeown Sr of Sidney and George Wease of Hubbardston. Shane Spencer of Alma and Don Rohn of Sheridan picked up heat wins. The points race finds Wease in front of Jarrett Monk by eight points, and Tim DeGroft Jr. in third, 16 points behind the leader.

James Bannister of St. Johns picked up his first feature of the season in the Races On The Web Flinn Stock event with Mike Currier of Fenwick and Kolby Rohn of Sheridan rounding out the top three. Heat event wins were picked up by Al Ridgeway of Sheridan and Currier. Rohn holds a 23 points lead over Currier, with Bannister in third, just 25 points behind.

The Port City Racing Pro Stock feature was taken by Jeremy Spencer of Deford with Kyle Hunt of Bannister and Andrew Fidler of Elwell. Chris Malek picked up the heat event. In the season points race, Malek holds a six-point lead over Hunt, with Ryan Teeter 11 points behind.

Kenny Dittenber of Carson City took advantage of Vestaburg’s Ashlee Scotts’ earlier incident that caused her to relinquish the lead with one lap to go to take the Engine Pro Pro Trucks event. Paul Grosnickle of Lansing and Tim Sooy of Stanton rounded out the top three. Sooy took the heat event. Curtis Rice holds a five-point lead over Dittenber, with Grosnickle 16 points back in third.

In The Greenville Daily News Mini Wedge divisions, Mason VanderVeen of Vestaburg scored the 6-9-year-old division over Zayden Buskirk and Jazzlyn Hale, both of Crystal. Buskirk scored the heat win. Buskirk holds the points lead, holding a 22 point lead over Jazzlyn Hale, with Delano Hale in third, 28 points behind.

In the 10-14-year-old event, Andrew Bogart of Howard City pulled off a last lap pass to move from third to first over Bryant VanderMark of Greenville and Lilyann Montgomery of Crystal. Montgomery scored the heat win. Bogart holds a healthy 95 points lead over Montgomery with Ryan Read in third with 105 points.

Next week at Crystal Motor Speedway is a regular night with all seven of the regular divisions plus the GLOW Vintage Modifieds, sponsored by Engine Pro. Adults are $15, kids 5-11 are $5, and pit passes are $30. Gates open at 4:30 PM with racing getting started at 7:30. Further information can be obtained by calling the track office at 989.235.5200 or visiting the website at

Sponsor Links