Portsmouth Raceway Park hosted the Ohio Valley Sprint Car Association Saturday night

PRP Press Release

   Portsmouth Raceway Park hosted the Ohio Valley Sprint Car Association Saturday night along with Modifieds, Limited Lates, and Sport Mods.

   Danny Smith took the win in the Sprints, while Brian Skaggs, Matt Melvin, and Brayden Berry all scored victories in their respective divisions.

   Saturday marked the lone night of the season in which PRP hosts Sprint Cars, and twenty-six Sprint Car drivers showed up and showed out recording speeds clocked at over 121 miles per hour.

   Chillicothe’s Danny Smith started on the pole, but Todd Kane would get the jump at the start from the outside of the front row.  Kane would lead the first five laps before falling off the pace on lap.

   Kane would retire from the race handing the lead to Smith, who would never relinquish it.  The 61-year-old Smith maneuvered his way through lapped traffic with precision en route to the win.  Brandon Wimmer, Keith Baxter, Andre Layfield, and fast-qualifier Jamie Myers rounded out the top five.  Cody Gallogly, Jordan Harble, Adam Cruea, Ron Blair, and Jake Hesson made up the rest of the top 10.

   In the R.W. Rental & Supply Modified Division, Pedro’s Brian Skaggs had another incredible evening at PRP winning his fourth feature of the season.  Skaggs set fast time in the Dynamic Shock Services Modified Time Trials, won his heat, started on the pole of the feature, and led every single lap.

   While Skaggs’ night appeared to be a picture of perfection, he said following the race that his Dad noticed something the matter with his front suspension just before the feature but managed to get it repaired before the field rolled out on the track.

   West Portsmouth 15-year-old Brayden Berry had another evening in which he performed at a level way beyond his years.  He won his heat and finished second in the feature… his best PRP finish ever in a Modified A-Main.

   Brayden’s father, Eric placed third.  Adam Jordan and Ervin Vance finished out the top five with Anthony Slusher, Tim Tribby, Tyler Smith, Brian Sammons, Jr. and Davey Warnock rounded out the top 10.


Sponsor Links

Matt Melvin grabbed the checkers in the O’Reilly Auto Parts Limited Late Model Feature for the fourth time this season.  John Melvin, Cameron Logan, Evyian Terry, Billy Staker, Randy Ross, and Kevin Terry made up the remainder of the field.


While Matt Melvin had the field covered in the A-Main, but he and his dad had an incredible battle during the heat with the younger Melvin just nipping his father at the stripe.

Brayden Berry again was the driver to beat in the EMC2 Party Rentals and Inflatables Sport Mods.  Berry notched his fourth Sport Mod Feature win of the season, which capped an incredible evening that also saw him win his Sport Mod and Modified Heats, while finishing second in the Modified A-Main.  In the four races he ran, Berry scored three wins and placed second in the other.


Brian Sammons placed second in the Sport Mod Feature.  Luke Jordan charged up through the field from 12th to finish third.  Mark Hall was fourth, and Rick Neace finished fifth.  The rest of the top 10 was comprised of Emily Jordan, Brandon Walker, Brennan Bobst, Derek Richmond, and Derek Spencer.


Portsmouth Raceway Park will be back in action this coming Saturday.  Late Models will return for a $5,000-to-win show, as Portsmouth will be the host site for The Buckeye Dirt Week Finale.  Also on this Saturday’s card will be Modifieds, Limited Lates, and Sport Mods.  Gates will open at 4 p.m. with racing at approximately 7:30.

OVSCA Sprint Car A-Main

  1. 54-Danny Smith [1]; 2. A79-Brandon Wimmer [3]; 3. 1B-Keith Baxter [6]; 4. 22-Andre Layfield [5]; 5. 1-Jamie Myers [7]; 6. 27-Cody Gallogly [4]; 7. 5-Jordan Harble [13]; 8. 83-Adam Cruea [12]; 9. 35R-Ron Blair [9]; 10. 5J-Jake Hesson [11]; 11. D12-Jason Dolick [16]; 12. 4X-Jimmy Stinson [15]; 13. 4D-Josh Davis [17]; 14. 99-Ryan Myers [14]; 15. 7A-Dave Dickson [8]; 16. 9W-Lance Webb [18]; 17. 78-Todd Kane [2]; 18. 2-Nathan Skaggs [10]

Modified A-Main

  1. 20S-Brian Skaggs [1]; 2. B75-Brayden Berry [2]; 3. 75-Eric Berry [3]; 4. 13-Adam Jordan [7]; 5. P20-Ervin Vance [4]; 6. 2-Anthony Slusher [10]; 7. 5-Tim Tribbey [12]; 8. 11S-Tyler Smith [9]; 9. 9F-Brian Sammons [16]; 10. 44-Davey Warnock [13]; 11. D4-David Jamison [17]; 12. 03-Travis Fleshman [18]; 13. 610-Matthew Edmisten [19]; 14. 66-Austin Linvile [14]; 15. 2A-Rick Butler [20]; 16. 35-Tony DeHart [6]; 17. 12R-Jeremy Rayburn [5]; 18. 36-Keith Shanks [11]; 19. X7-Jeremy Lewis [8]; 20. 13R-Peter Ripato [15]

Limited Late Model A-Main

  1. 81M-Matt Melvin [1]; 2. 81-John Melvin [2]; 3. 68-Cameron Logan [5]; 4. M1-Evyian Terry [3]; 5. 7S-Billy Staker [4]; 6. 94-Randy Ross [6]; 7. 97C-Kevin Terry [7]

Sport Mod A-Main

  1. B75-Brayden Berry [2]; 2. B5-Brian Sammons [3]; 3. 13J-Luke Jordan [12]; 4. 71-Mark Hall [4]; 5. 12N-Rick Neace [9]; 6. 13E-Emily Jordan [1]; 7. 19W-Brandon Walker [14]; 8. 24B-Brennan Bobst [11]; 9. 34-Derek Richmond [15]; 10. 25S-Derek Spencer [6]; 11. 11B-Brandon Colley [16]; 12. 44M-Brad McGlone [5]; 13. 14-Joe McClain [17]; 14. B9-Jeremy Brady [10]; 15. 31-Colten Wright [19]; 16. 11A-Sam Allen [18]; 17. 2AKA-Kristin Butler [20]; 18. 8D-Stevie Thornsberry [7]; 19. 24Z-Zack Pendleton [8]; (DNS) 7J-Casey Jones


Sponsor Links