Sponsor Links


Muenster claims opening night late model main


(KAUKAUNA, WI) May 24 – Brillion’s Alex Stumpf survived a late race restart and cruised to victory in the super late model feature at Wisconsin International Raceway in Kaukauna Thursday on Al Huss Auto/Valley Gasket’s season opening night.


Sophomore driver Chad Butz of Green Bay outdueled fellow front row starter Taylor Vandermoss to the lead at the drop of the green. Stump pulled alongside of Butz on lap three when a Tim Springstroh spin drew an amber.


On the restart Stumpf sprinted into the lead with Sawyer Effertz trailing in second. Stumpf quickly distanced himself from the pack. Effertz stayed within striking distance of Stumpf and began slicing away at Stumpf’s lead at lap ten.


“The Maverick” Effertz closed within three car lengths by lap 14 but could not get any closer as the laps wore on. Stumpf poured the coals to his machine and stretched his lead until a yellow flew for a Jesse Oudenhoven spin with four laps remaining.  


With a three lap dash setup Stumpf led with Effertz second and Kyle Calmes, who stormed through the pack from deep in the field running third. Stumpf stayed strong on the restart and captured the win, his second of his career in the division. Effertz came up second as he did on opening night a year ago. Calmes claimed third followed by Butz and Casey Johnson rounding out the top five.


“It’s always been on my bucket list to win the opening night race,” said Stumpf. “I gave Chad Butz credit. We had a great race earlier tonight in the heat. I worked him up a little bit on the restart. I kept hitting my marks and my spotter kept telling me to hit my marks and I did. It was a great run.”


Appleton’s Mike King paced the opening circuit of the late model feature before Green Bay’s Eddie Muenster wrestled the lead away from King on lap two. Muenster quickly went to work building up a sizeable lead in the next few laps. Muenster’s advantage was wiped out when Appleton’s Matt Wittman spun coming out of turn four. The spin also collected the machine of rookie Will Timmers of Kaukauna. Both drivers were shaken up but otherwise ok and were done for the night.


When racing resumed Muenster maintained the lead with Braison Bennett and Mike Meyerhofer hot on his heels. Muenster built a three car length lead with ten laps remaining and kept all challengers at bay to capture the opening night feature flag. Trailing Muenster at the checkers were Meyerhofer, Nathan Van Wychen, Bennett and fast qualifier Jesse Bernhagen. “It made it real tough when we sat that long with that red flag,” said Muenster in victory lane. “I started building up a good lead and then we’re double file in the restart. Braison (Bennett) gave me a great run on the restart. That was a lot of fun.”


Appleton veteran Pete Berken doubled up, winning both 15 lap WIR ¼ mile late model features.


Veteran racer Randy Theimer of Kaukauna fought off a hard charging Rachel Meyerhofer and Larry Raygo to emerge triumphant in the super stock feature. Meyerhofer settled for second place money followed by Raygo, Jeff Treml and Tony Wilz.


Neenah’s Jason Plutz captured the caution-plagued sport truck feature. Plutz also copped a heat race earlier in the night.


Sheboygan’s Brody Rivest came from deep in the 24 car field to win the caution free, Sizzlin’ 4 feature. Trailing Rivest at the checkers were Mike Klein, Norway, Michigan visitor Isaac Bray, Scott Wolf and Kurt Schweitzer.


Kaukauna’s Craig Vanderwettering capped off the night by winning the Figure 8 feature.


Next Thursday night, May 31 Mad Siding Roofing, Siding & Windows is sponsoring the races, with action getting underway at 6:45 p.m. You can check for more information or follow the club’s Facebook page.


SCHMITTY’S TICKETS SUPER LATE MODEL FEATURE – Alex Stumpf, Brillion; Sawyer Effertz, Darboy; Kyle Calmes, Freedom; Chad Butz, Green Bay; Bobby Kendall, Montello; Casey Johnson, Edgerton; Andy Monday, Appleton; Brent Strelka, Freedom; Jeff Van Oudenhoven, Appleton; Travis Dassow, West Bend; Cory Kemkes, Appleton; Lowell Bennett, Neenah; Taylor Vandermoss, Appleton; Mike Reichenberger, Appleton; Randy Schuler, Mequon; Grant Griesbach, Pewaukee; Mickey Schallie, Darboy; Taylor Haufschildt, De Pere; Jesse Oudenhoven, Kaukauna; Tim Springstroh, Freedom


SEMI FEATURE – Griesbach; Reichenberger; Springstroh; Haufschildt


HEATS 1) Michael Anthony, Appleton; Trevor Vandermolen, Oshkosh 2) Oudenhoven; Griesbach 3) Butz; Stumpf


DASH – Monday; Calmes


FAST TIME: Johnson 19.273


FOX CITIES TOWING & EAGLE GRAPHICS LATE MODEL FEATURE- Eddie Muenster, Green Bay; Mike Meyerhofer, Hilbert; Nathan Van Wychen, Kaukauna; Braison Bennett, Neenah; Jesse Bernhagen, Markesan; Travis Rodewald, Manitowoc; Brett Wenzel, Two Rivers; Bryan Monday, Appleton; Mike King, Appleton; RD Yaeger, Appleton


HEAT – Wenzel; King


DASH- Muenster; Rodewald


FAST TIME: Bernhagen 20.178


¼ MILE LATE MODEL FEATURE 1 – Pete Berken, Appleton; Cory Kemkes, Appleton; Chad Devine, Mackville; Todd Baumann, Kaukauna; Jerry Schneider, Kaukauna


FEATURE 2 – Berken; Tom Spierowski, Neenah; Kelsey-Ann Hayes, Sturgeon Bay; Devine; Cory Kemkes, Appleton


Fast time – Kemkes, 14.767


SUPER STOCK FEATURE – Randy Theimar, Kaukauna; Rachel Meyerhofer, Brillion; Larry Raygo, Omro; Jeff Treml, De Pere; Tony Wilz, Menasha


HEAT –Raygo; Rachel Meyerhofer


FAST TIME: Phil Lehl, Appleton 15.572


MILLTOWN STILL & GRILL SIZZLIN’ 4 FEATURE –Rivest; Klein; Isaac Bray, Norway, MI; Scott Wolf, Appleton; Kurt Schweitzer, Greenville


HEATS 1) Klein; Kurt Schweitzer 2) Rivest; Andy Miller, Bucktown


FAST TIME – Dan Thomson, Neenah 18.170


SPORT TRUCKS FEATURE – Jason Plutz, Neenah; Dan Vixmer, Fond Du Lac; Kyle Quella, Appleton; Bobby Wautier, Denmark; Marty Sokolik, Oakfield


HEATS 1) Marty Sokolik, Andrew Ross, Appleton 2) Plutz; Quella


FAST TIME – Kylee Vandermoss, Appleton 16.566


FIGURE 8 – Craig Vanderwettering, Kaukauna

Sponsor Links