Wayne County Speedway results nite 1 results 9-22-17

Sponsor Links


Orrville, Ohio

September 22, 2017

By Mike Swanger

  On the opening night of the two night, 5th annual Ohio Dirt Blowout at NAPA Wayne County Speedway, presented by the Kar Connection, 17 year old Clay Riney grabbed the lead on lap five of the Never Ever Won (NEW) feature and never looked back to win his 1st Sprint car feature. Pole sitter and second heat winner Brandon Conkle would set the pace for the opening four laps as Riney would move into second from his 5th starting spot with 7th starting Sam Ashworth right behind Riney on the second circuit. The caution flag waved on lap two as Ryan Fredericks bounced off the turn one wall and stopped. As the green flag reappeared, Conkle, Riney, Ashworth and 1st heat winner Cody Gallogly were bumper to bumper. Riney and Ashworth would go side by side for second for the next two laps with Riney securing second on lap four. Working lap five, leader Conkle would get sideways to much in turn two and come to a stop with everyone getting by with no contact. On the restart, Riney would bolt out to a big lead and the Wellsburg, West Virginia driver had more than a straightaway lead over Ashworth and Gallogly. Disaster would happen to Ashworth with less than two laps to go as he smacked the guardrail in turn two and flipped to bring out the red flag. Riney and his Wahl’s Heating and Cooling #c1 would drive away from Gallogly on the restart to collect his 1st win as those two drivers were the only drivers on the lead lap when the checkered flag waved. Lance Webb finished third as Kris Davis and Brian Benson filled out the top five.    

   Brad Hensel popped into the lead from his third starting spot to lead the first six laps of the WQKT 104.5 Mini Stock feature but Millersburg’s Dale Beckett was picking his way through from his 7th starting grid position and over powered his way past Hensel on lap 7 and then hold off Hensel’s last lap charge to park his #4 in the Summit Racing victory circle for his 1st win of the season. Sean Rush outdueled Billy Parsons for third as track champion Cory Staley was fifth. Heat winners were Matt Miller, Colton St. John, Sean Rush and Dale Beckett as Jordan James and Stephen Crowe topped the last chance races.

  Night two of the 5th annual Ohio Dirt Blowout presented by the Kar Connection will see the Ohio Valley Sprint Car Association in for a $2,500 to win feature with the Kar Connection Super Late Models racing for $4,000 to win Don Gross Memorial and a $700 to win Hans Gross Memorial dash. The Lowes Super Stocks will running for the $1,000 to win feature plus a Dash for Cash and the WQKT 104.5 Mini Stocks will have $1,200 to the winner of their main event. The Super Stocks and Mini Stocks will have their last night of the ‘Summer Series’ races points determined also.

  Gates will 3 pm tonight, Saturday, September 23rd with racing at 7 pm.


Friday, September 22, 2017


Heat   1   Cody Gallogly, Clay Riney, Shawn Hubler, Sam Ashworth, Kris Davis, Brian Benson, Dylan Kingan

Heat   2   Brandon Conkle, Lance Webb, Bill Ault, Ryan Fredericks, Andy Fike, Bret Barbone dns

Feature   Clay Riney, Cody Gallogly, Lance Webb, Kris Davis, Brian Benson, Dylan Kingan, Brandon Conkle, Andy Fike, Sam Ashworth, Shawn Hubler, Bill Ault, Ryan Fredericks, Bret Barbone dns



Heat   1   Matt Miller, Brad Hensel, Billy Parsons, Kevin Markey, Lance Smith, Randy Gibson, Jason Henderson, Johnny Bruce, Wayne Newbury dns

Heat   2   Colton St. John, Tim Workman, Brianna Hensel, Keith Rush, Rod Daugherty, Zane Dick, Jim Burns, Jordan James, Wally Ball dns

Heat   3   Sean Rush, Wes Staley, Doug Hensel, Jeff Slykhuis, Cory Mills, Aaron Nitz, Andy Carpenter, Travis Tice, Stephen Crowe

Heat   4   Dale Beckett, Cory Staley, Jason Shaw, Lee Schlegel, Gary Perry, Colin Slykhuis, Darin Thornsley, Clayton Evans dns

L.C. #1    Jordan James, Randy Gibson, Jim Burns, Rod Daugherty, Johnny Bruce, Zane Dick, Lance Smith, Jason Henderson, Wayne Newbury dns, Wally Ball dns

L.C. #2    Stephen Crowe, Colin Slykhuis, Darin Thornsley, Gary Perry, Aaron Nitz, Cory Mills, Andy Carpenter, Travis Tice, Clayton Evans dns

Feature   Dale Beckett, Brad Hensel, Sean Rush, Billy Parsons, Cory Staley, Jordan James, Brianna Hensel, Lee Schlegel, Jeff Slykhuis, Jason Shaw, Colton St. John, Tim Workman, Keith Rush, Wes Staley, Matt Miller, Randy Gibson, Colin Slykhuis, Kevin Markey, Stephen Crowe, Doug Hensel dns




Sponsor Links