wayne county speedway pete jacobs memorial

Sponsor Links


For Immediate Release

Orrville, Ohio

By Mike Swanger

On Sunday, September 3rd, Tony Stewart’s Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions will return to NAPA Wayne County Speedway for the fourth time this season, this time for the Pete Jacobs Memorial paying $10,000 to win and $600 to start. So far this year, Sheldon Haudenschild, Kyle Larson and Joey Saldana have parked in the Summit Racing victory circle. Sheldon Haudenschild is the defending Pete Jacobs Memorial winner. ASCoC points leader Chad Kemenah will lead a strong group of All Stars into the night action and Sammy Swindell, a three time World of Outlaw Champion and 5 time Chili Bowl winner, has indicated he will be at ‘Orrville’s Historic Oval’. The Lowes Super Stocks will also be in action on Sunday. A rain date is set for Monday, September 4th.

In addition to the night’s action, the fastest 10 All Star drivers will have the opportunity to run an ‘Australian Pursuit’ race, which is a single file start and a maximum of ten laps and when a car is completely passed, is eliminated. If the driver that starts last can pass all the other cars in less than ten laps, the race is over and he is the winner. This race will not have any affect on the outcome of the ASCoC for the evening.

Pete Jacobs took 23 acres of his farmland in 1965 and turned it into Wayne County Speedway as he opened the gates on June 26, 1965 to a full house of race fans and cars. Although in it’s 52nd year of racing, WCS has gone through several owners and promoters in that time span, the first Pete Jacobs Memorial was run in 1971 with a twin invitational that paid $5,000 to win as Harold McGilton and Bob Cannon were the winners. The Pete Jacobs Memorial has been revived the last two seasons by promoters Jason and Kristin Flory.

There will be a new t-shirts for the Pete Jacobs Memorial at the Arctic Cat All Star trailer on Sunday.  

Gates will open at 2 pm Sunday and the Jessica Hannan Band will be in concert beginning at 3 pm until 6 pm when the action on the track begins.

Go to www.waynecountyspeedway.com for more information on this event and the remaining schedule for the season. 





Sponsor Links