Another beautiful summer Saturday night found 128 cars in the pits at Crystal Motor Speedway.

Sponsor Links

Engine Pro of Grand Rapids sponsored the evening.

The GLOW Vintage Modifieds made a tour stop at the speedway, with a dozen early style vehicles making the trip. In the feature event, Alan Marcott of Wayland brought home the checkers, followed by Tony Campbell of Belding, and Jeremy Hamilton. Marcott also picked up the heat win.

Travis Stemler of Ionia fought off a pack of formidable competitors to bring home the win in the Kentucky Fried Chicken Late Model feature. Kyle Borgman of Muskegon and Zack Olger of St. Johns followed to round out the top three. Kurt Mesman of Wyoming, Kyle Cole, Ludington, and Ryan Kent of Greenville picked up heat wins. With the season points race-ending next week, Ionia’s Scott Baker holds a narrow seven-point lead over Borgman for another division title.

Action in the Lane Automotive IMCA Modified was furious, but when the checkered flag fell, it was Myron DeYoung there first to take home the win over Austin Wonch and Brenten DeYoung, all of Crystal. Myron DeYoung, Mitchell Hunt of Kent City, and Rusty Zeigler of Ovid scored heat wins. The IMCA points race doesn’t end until September 15th, but Wonch holds a 3-point lead over Brenten DeYoung and an 8-point gap over Hunt.

Alex Richards of Hubbardston grabbed the feature win in the Next Level Graphics and Design Street Stock division. He was followed by Steve Doty of Alma, and Dillon Kohn of Sheridan. Heat wins fell to Kevin Rohn, Stanton, Gabe Geselman, Muir, and James McKeown of Sidney. Mickey Currier of holds a ten-point lead over Richards going into next week’s season championship.

Fenwick’s Mike Currier brought the pack of Races On The Web Flinn Stock competitors home, taking the feature win over Rusty Sowles, Greenville, and Ronald Fuhrman of Belding. Heats were taken by Jarred Wonsey of Sumner and Sowles. In the season point’s race, Sowles owns a ten-point lead over Currier with one point event left.

The Port City Racing Pro Stock feature saw Kyle Hunt of Bannister move up seven positions to take the win over Derrick Dennis, Lakeview, and Tim DeGroft. Dennis and Mike Husted of Coleman took heat events. The probable championship point race narrows down to a nine-point lead by Jeremy Spencer of DeFord over Hunt.

Kolby Rohn of Sheridan moved into the Engine Pro Pro Truck division in 2019, and despite heavy pressure from behind, the young driver grabbed his first division win over Tim Sooy, Stanton, and Curtis Rice out of Muskegon. Sooy and Paul Grosnickle of Lansing took heat events. Next week’s points race will be decided between Rice who holds a six-point lead over Jim Beltz and sixteen points over Vern Buskirk.

Next week at Crystal Motor Speedway is the Season Points Championship for six of the tracks seven divisions. Gates open at 4:30 PM with racing starting at 7:30. In the event of a ‘precipitation interrupted’ development, the points will stay frozen and championships awarded based on their current status. Adult admission to the grandstands is $12, kids 5-11 are $5, and pit passes are $30. For further information, visit the track website at or call 989.235.5252.

Sponsor Links