Sponsor Links







(KAUKAUNA, WI) July 19 – Edgerton’s Casey Johnson snatched the lead from Sawyer Effertz with seven laps to go and collected the super late model feature at Wisconsin International Raceway in Kaukauna Thursday.


In doing so Johnson became the first repeat winner in the division in ’18.


With threatening weather Fox River Racing Club and WIR officials pushed the show through without a hitch, with the final checkered flag flying just before 9:15 p.m.


Johnson started 10th on the grid and carefully picked his way through traffic in the early going. The Edgerton Ace wrestled second away from Corey Manders on lap 19 and began reeling in Effertz, passing the Darboy driver on lap 28. Johnson kept the lead and cruised to victory. Effertz played bridesmaid taking second while Neenah veteran Lowell Bennett slipped past Manders late in the race to take third. Manders placed fourth in his best performance of his career. Freedom’s Kyle Calmes rounded out the top five finishers.


“Man was that a lot of fun tonight!” Johnson exclaimed in victory lane. “I’ve got all the respect in the world for Sawyer Effertz and Corey (Manders). Those guys gave me all the room in the world when I passed him. It’s fun racing when it’s like that.”

The contest went green-to-checkered without a yellow.


Kaukauna’s Nathan Van Wychen fought off a late race surge from Neenah’s Braison Bennett and hung on to capture his first late model feature of the season.


Bennett, who pulled double duty on the evening also racing in the Pavement Pounder sportmods, hung on for second. Jesse Bernhagen, Bryan Monday and polesitter Travis Rodewald placed third through fifth, respectively.


Appleton’s Brock Saunders won his second straight Pavement Pounder sportmod feature, but the win was anything but easy.


Saunders drew the number 1 chip after placing third in his heat, earning the pole position. Saunders sprinted into the lead at the drop of the green and quickly built up a cushion between himself and the field. Seymour’s Jayden Schmidt, who started fourth, wrestled second away from Jessie Van Roy by lap four and began chasing down Saunders.


The third-generation driver caught up to Saunders by lap ten, and with the assistance of some lapped cars ducked underneath Saunders for the lead with five laps remaining. With three laps to go Schmidt came into turn one too hot, sliding up out of the groove and handing the lead back to Saunders. Saunders went on to collect the checkers.


Schmidt settled for second place, followed by Van Roy, Braison Bennett who sliced through the field from seventh and Scott Besaw.


Menasha’s Jason Plutz dominated action in the sport truck class, winning his sixth feature of the season and his fourth victory in a row while Neenah’s Justin Fickel captured his second straight Sizzlin’ 4 feature.


Hometown driver Craig Vanderwettering won the Figure 8 feature capping off the evening’s action.


Next Thursday night, July 26 will be the PCMC/Bruce Mueller Memorial All Star Memorial.  Racing gets underway at 6:45 p.m. You can check for more information or follow the club’s Facebook page.


SUPER LATE MODEL FEATURE – Casey Johnson, Edgerton; Sawyer Effertz, Darboy; Lowell Bennett, Neenah; Corey Manders, Hilbert; Kyle Calmes, Freedom; Andy Monday, Appleton; Brent Strelka, Freedom; Bob Schultz, Reedsville; Bobby Kendall, Montello; Jeff Van Oudenhoven, Appleton; Jesse Oudenhoven, Kaukauna; Chad Butz, Green Bay; Mickey Schallie, Darboy; Grant Griesbach, Pewaukee; Taylor Vandermoss, Appleton; Corey Kemkes, Appleton; Randy Schuler, Mequon; Michael Anthony, Appleton


SEMI FEATURE – Schuler; Griesbach; Vandermoss; Anthony


HEATS 1) Taylor Haufschildt, De Pere; Vandermoss 2) Effertz; Manders


DASH – Calmes


FAST TIME: Kendall, 19.389


LATE MODEL FEATURE- Nathan Van Wychen, Kaukauna; Braison Bennett, Neenah; Jesse Bernhagen, Markesan; Bryan Monday, Appleton; Travis Rodewald, Manitowoc; Eddie Muenster, Green Bay; Mike Meyerhofer, Hilbert; Matt Wittman, Appleton; Craig Krueger, Appleton; Mike King, Appleton


HEAT – Rodewald; King


DASH- Muenster


FAST TIME: Meyerhofer, 20.414


PAVEMENT POUNDER SPORTMOD FEATURE –Brock Saunders, Appleton; Jayden Schmidt, Seymour; Jessie Van Roy, Kaukauna; Braison Bennett, Neenah; Scott Besaw, Omro; R.W. Aschenbrenner, Oneida; Evan Beattie, Little Chute; Cody Wichman, Bonduel; Randy Theys, Algoma; Russ Franks, Oconto; Chad Ewald, Oshkosh; John Ostermann, Norway, MI; Steve Seehawer, Beaver Dam; Ethan Beattie, Little Chute; Sawyer Haese, New Franken


HEATS 1) Bennett; Aschenbrenner 2) Besaw; Schmidt


SIZZLIN’ 4 FEATURE – Justin Fickel, Neenah; Dennis DeBruin, Appleton; Mitch Meyerhofer, Kaukauna; Mitchell Opsahl, Freedom; Jake Peters, Shiocton;


HEATS 1) Rick Glaser, Menasha; Kurt Schweitzer, Greenville 2) Opsahl; Heather Wolfgram, Oshkosh


FAST TIME – Andy Miller, Appleton 17.809


SPORT TRUCKS FEATURE – Jason Plutz, Menasha; Kylee Vandermoss, Appleton; Bobby Wautier, Denmark; Cody Vanderloop, Appleton; Dan Vixmer, Fond Du Lac


HEATS 1) Cody Vanderloop, Appleton; Jason Van Handel, Appleton 2) Tanner Fickel, Neenah; Vandermoss


FAST TIME – Wautier,16.406


FIGURE 8 – Craig Vanderwettering, Kaukauna

Sponsor Links