Portsmouth Raceway Park hosted the seventh annual Boone Coleman Memorial “Gator 50” over the weekend

PRP Press Release

   Portsmouth Raceway Park hosted the seventh annual Boone Coleman Memorial “Gator 50” over the weekend, and for the second year in a row, Late Model racer Brandon Fouts earned the checkers.

   Fouts joined Ervin Vance, Matt Melvin, and Jason Spillman as feature winners Saturday night.  For Fouts, this past weekend brought his second PRP A-Main victory in as many weeks in the Giovanni’s Pizza Late Model Division.

   While Fouts had to use a last-lap pass to claim the checkers a week earlier, he was dominant all night long this past weekend.  The Kite, KY driver set fast time in the Impact Race Gear Time Trials.  He won his heat, and he led every lap of the 50-lap “Gator 50”.

   The victory ensures Fouts a provisional starting spot in this October’s Dirt Track World Championship.

   Wheelersburg’s Rod Conley placed second.  Grayson, KY’s Jackie Boggs was third.  PRP points leader Eddie Carrier, Jr. from Salt Rock, WV was fourth.  Richmond, IN’s Steve Casebolt rounded out the top five.

   RJ Conley, Shannon Thornsberry, Josh Bocook, Delmas Conley, and Robbie Lewis completed the top 10.

   In the R.W. Rental & Supply Modified Division, 2016 PRP Track Champ Ervin Vance grabbed the feature win.  For Vance it was his first PRP victory of the season.  Vance also set quick time in the Dynamic Shock Service Modified Time Trials which paid an extra $100 Saturday night courtesy of Lemley Motorsports.

   Jeremy Rayburn, Tim Tribbey, Jody Puckett, and Justin Jacobs rounded out the top five.  Brayden Berry, Adam Jordan, Tony DeHart, Anthony Slusher, and Jason Bilyeu completed the top 10.

   Franklin Furnace racer Tony DeHart was named The Markwest Ranger Pipeline Hard Charger, as he climbed eight positions.

   Ironton’s Matt Melvin took the win in the O’Reilly Auto Parts Limited Late A-Main.  In doing so, he became the division’s fourth different feature winner in four different races.  Cameron Logan, Mike Meyers, Billy Staker, John Melvin, Randy Ross, Joe Whitt, Evyian Terry, and Kevin Terry rounded out the field.

   In the EMC2 Party Rentals and Inflatables Sport Mod A-Main, Piketon’s Jason Spillman nabbed his first feature win of 2018 after finishing as the runner-up in every other race this season.  Brian Sammons, Derek Richmond, Rick Neace, and Luke Jordan completed the top five.  Jordan advanced 13 positions to finish fifth.  Brennan Bobst, Alan Gulley, Brayden Berry, Derek Spencer, and Stevie Thornsberry closed out the top 10.  Berry moved up eight positions in the feature.

   The Sport Mod A-Main did witness a nasty accident when Tony Whitt got turned head on into the wall and went flipping.  Whitt was thankfully able to walk away from the crash.


Sponsor Links

Portsmouth Raceway Park will return to action this coming Saturday featuring Late Models, Modifieds, Limited Lates, Sport Mods, as well as Legends Cars.  It will be Kids Night.  All children ages 12 and under will receive free general admission.


The highlighted event will be the Limited Late Model A-Main which will be referred to as The Premier Precast Products Todd Galloway Memorial, formerly The Limited Late Model Extravaganza.  Saturday’s Limited Late Model Feature will pay $1,000 to win.


A new element to PRP this season will be the ability for fans to drop off non-perishable food items every race night.  Portsmouth Raceway Park will then see to it that these food items are distributed to the area’s needy.





Late Model A-Main

  1. 81-Brandon Fouts [1]; 2. 71R-Rod Conley [3]; 3. 4B-Jackie Boggs [4]; 4. 10C-Eddie Carrier Jr [8]; 5. C9-Steve Casebolt [6]; 6. 71C-RJ Conley [7]; 7. 17-Shannon Thornsberry [2]; 8. B1-Josh Bocook [11]; 9. 71-Delmas Conley [9]; 10. 48L-Robbie Lewis [5]; 11. 21L-Dennis Little [10]; 12. 1-Audie Swartz [12]; (DNS) 77A-Jeff Arnold

Modified A-Main

  1. P20-Ervin Vance [1]; 2. 12R-Jeremy Rayburn [2]; 3. 5-Tim Tribbey [4]; 4. J3-Jody Puckett [5]; 5. 20J-Justin Jacobs [6]; 6. B75-Brayden Berry [7]; 7. 13-Adam Jordan [8]; 8. 35-Tony DeHart [16]; 9. 2-Anthony Slusher [3]; 10. 26-Jason Bilyeu [15]; 11. 2A-Rick Butler [12]; 12. 610-Matthew Edmisten [13]; 13. 66-Austin Linville [14]; 14. 9F-Brian Sammons [10]; 15. 36-Keith Shanks [9]; 16. 55-Kasey Black [11]; 17. 5D-Mike Drake [17]; (DNS) 14F-David Fitzpatrick

Limited Late Model A-Main

  1. 81M-Matt Melvin [1]; 2. 68-Cameron Logan [2]; 3. 10M-Mike Meyers [4]; 4. 7S-Billy Staker [5]; 5. 81-John Melvin [3]; 6. 94-Randy Ross [6]; 7. W1-Joe Whitt [8]; 8. 58-Evyian Terry [7]; 9. 97C-Kevin Terry [9]

Sport Mod A-Main

  1. 44-Jason Spillman [1]; 2. B5-Brian Sammons [4]; 3. 34-Derek Richmond [3]; 4. 12N-Rick Neace [5]; 5. 13J-Luke Jordan [18]; 6. 24B-Brennan Bobst [8]; 7. 51G-Alan Gulley [2]; 8. B75-Brayden Berry [16]; 9. 25S-Derek Spencer [10]; 10. 8D-Stevie Thornsberry [6]; 11. 13E-Emily Jordan [7]; 12. 14-Joe McClain [11]; 13. 19W-Brandon Walker [15]; 14. B9-Jeremy Brady [14]; 15. LJ5-Josh Moore [20]; 16. 45L-Greg Litteral [17]; 17. 71-Mark Hall [19]; 18. 24M-Bo McCarty [9]; 19. 7WB-Tony Whitt Sr [12]; (DNS) 11B-Brandon Colley
Sponsor Links