Sponsor Links

PORTAGE, Wis. (May 8, 2018) – The TUNDRA Super Late Model Series Powered by Wisconsin Potatoes will feature a dynamic and diverse field for Kroll’s West Round One this Saturday May 12. One thing is for certain, when it comes to TUNDRA at Wisconsin International Raceway, it’s best to expect the unexpected.

Last season Dalton Zehr broke the track record but then had the win slip away in the final laps as he was hampered by broken sway bar bolt. Steve
Apel was happy to grab his first series win after being outgunned by Ty Majeski the two years prior. This season both Apel and Zehr could be viewed as top contenders once again.

They won’t be the only drivers with Championship pedigree in the field, however. Former TUNDRA Champions Dennis Prunty and Casey Johnson will provide stout challenges. Prunty won a Dixieland 250 at WIR and Johnson is a former Red, White and Blue Series winner at the half-mile.

Former track Champions will be in the mix too. Jeff Van Oudenhoven looks to carry the torch for the locals after experiencing mixed success in the event. Bobby Kendall – who has set fast time for this event in the past – is a former Red, White and Blue Champion seeking his first TUNDRA victory. The 1996 Fox River Racing Club Champion Mark Schroeder could also pose a major threat to the TUNDRA Travelers.

Aside from the former titlists, several TUNDRA Travelers will be looking to break through in hopes of starting off the year with a solid points day. Colin Reffner and John Beale had respectable days in the 2017 running of the event. Darek Gress, Jordan Thiel, Wyatt Brooks, and Mike Lichtfeld will be among the drivers hoping to have a banner day and reverse the gremlins of last season.

Plenty of local talent will be ready to roll, as well – including WIR regular and TUNDRA Traveler Brent Strelka who started up front in last year’s feature event. Drivers such as Jesse Oudenhoven, Mike Reichenberger, Maxwell Schultz, and Alex Stumpf have visited Victory Lane on in Thursday night WIR action.

The field also features some of the young, up-and-coming racers of the Midwest who will be competing for the TUNDRA Rookie of the Year title. Chad Butz should be a favorite at WIR as he ran a full rookie season last year with a few Top Five finishes. It will be up to Collin Slife, Gabe Sommers, Adam Peschek, Sydney Wonderling, and Jake Zellmer to show their meddle in Round One.

Kroll’s West Round One for the TUNDRA Super Late Model Series Powered by Wisconsin Potatoes takes place Saturday, May 12 at Wisconsin International Raceway. The Super Late Models will be joined by the TUNDRA Sportsman and Triple Crown Late Models. Qualifying is at 5:15 p.m. with racing at 6:45 p.m. Adult admission (13 and up) is just $12. Kids 12 and under receive free admission.

If a rain date is necessary, the race will be rescheduled Sunday, May 13 with a 2 p.m. start time.

Wisconsin International Raceway is located just past the intersection of Hwy 55 and KK outside of Kaukauna, Wis. For more information visit

Expected Entries for Kroll’s West Round One (40)
Wisconsin International Raceway – Saturday, May 12
[TT] – Indicates 2018 TUNDRA Traveler
[R] – Indicates 2018 Back 40 Wraps Rookie of the Year Candidate

00 – Darek Gress, Neillsville, Wis. [TT]
07 – Cory Kemkes, Appleton, Wis.
07 – Alex Seidl, Appleton, Wis.
1 – Jesse Oudenhoven, Kaukauna, Wis.
2 – Jordan Thiel, Darboy, Wis. [TT]
2 – Todd Stenson, Wisconsin Dells, Wis. [TT]
5 – John Beale, Verona, Wis. [TT]
5 – Casey Johnson, Edgerton, Wis. [TT]
5 – Mike Reichenberger, Appleton, Wis.
7 – Mark Schroeder, Green Bay, Wis.
8 – Chad Butz, Green Bay, Wis. [TT][R]
9 – Tommy Pecaro, Markesan, Wis. [TT]
11 – Bobby Kendall, Monello, Wis. [TT]
15 – Gabe Sommers, Plover, Wis. [TT][R]
17 – Grant Griesbach, Pewaukee, Wis. [TT]
25 – Wyatt Brooks, Amherst, Wis. [TT]
26 – Taylor Haufschildt, De Pere, Wis.
28 – Corey Manders, Hilbert, Wis.
31 – Collin Slife, Richford, Wis. [TT][R]
32 – Steve Lichtfeld, Portage, Wis. [TT]
34 – Maxwell Schultz, Reedsville, Wis.
35 – Travis Dassow, West Bend, Wis.
36 – Tim Springstroh, Freedom, Wis.
38 – Jordan DeVoy, Lake Geneva, Wis. [TT]
42 – Dennis Prunty, Knowles, Wis.
44 – Mike Lichtfeld, Pardeeville, Wis. [TT]
45 – Jeff Van Oudenhoven, Kimberly, Wis.
51 – Steve Apel, Slinger, Wis. [TT]
52 – Brent Stelka, Freedom, Wis. [TT]
53 – Jake Carpenter, Ashwaubenon, Wis.
66 – Alex Stumpf, Brillion, Wis.
66 – Adam Peshek, Ixonia, Wis. [TT][R]
66 – Sydney Wonderling, Glendale Heights, Ill. [TT][R]
72 – Randy Schuler, Mecquon, Wis.
87 – Colin Reffner, Wisconsin Rapids, Wis. [TT]
89 – Mike Egan, Slinger, Wis. [TT]
91 – Mickie Schallie, Darboy, Wis.
97 – Robbie Iverson, Escanaba, Mich.
99 – Jake Zellmer, Burlington, Wis. [TT][R]
119 – Dalton Zehr, Somewhereville, Ida. [TT]

The Unified Northern Drivers Racing Association (TUNDRA) Super Late Model Series was formed in 2011 as the Alive For Five Super Late Model Series at Dells Raceway Park. TUNDRA’s business plan is based on a sustainable program for promoters and race teams alike, while still providing high-quality Super Late Model entertainment to fans.

For more information on TUNDRA including the 2016 schedule, news, results and the point standings, archived results and standings, and more visit Also, interact with us on Facebook ( or Twitter (@TUNDRAslms)

Sponsor Links