Racing Promotion Monthly ARPY Ballot Now in Mail. Readers Pick Five First-Time Nominees For 42nd Annual Award.

The idea Newsletter For Auto Racing Promoters
Watch For Your Ballot In Postal Mail! Return Ballot By January 30, 2018.
Readers Pick Five First-Time Nominees For 42nd Annual Award. Racing Promotion Monthly ARPY Ballot Now in Mail.

Sponsor Links

Five of six promoters nominated for Racing Promotion Monthly’s Auto Racing Promoter of the Year (ARPY) are first-time nominees. The nominees’ selected by readers of the “Idea Newsletter For Auto Racing Promoters,” include five that promote dirt tracks, and one that promotes a paved track. One is affiliated with NASCAR, one with IMCA, one with DIRTcar, and three that operate independently while sanctioning special events with multiple series.
The nominees are: In Region One, Eastern Region: Lyle Devore, Albany-Saratoga (NY) Speedway; Region Two, Southeastern Region: Paul Purvis, Swainsboro (GA) Raceway; Region Three, Central Region: Ron Flinn, Crystal (MI) Motor Speedway; Region Four, Northern Region: Gregg McKarns, Madison International (WI) Speedway; Region Five, Great Plains Region: John McCoy, Knoxville (IA) Raceway; Region Six, Southwest and Western Region: Steve Beitler, Skagit (WA) Speedway, and Grays Harbor (WA) Raceway. Devore, Purvis, Flinn, McKarns, and McCoy received first-time nominations, and Beitler his fourth nomination.
Dan Robinson, Lucas Oil (MO) Speedway received the award last year.  Previous winners are: Hugh Deery, 1976/1984; J.C. Agajanian, 1977; D. Anthony Venditti, 1978; Jack Gunn, 1979; George Eisenhart, 1980; Dick O’Brien, 1981; Howard Tiedt, 1982; Don Martin, 1983; Glenn Donnelly, 1985; Cary Agajanian, 1986; Bud Lunsford, 1987; Bob Daniels, 1988; Howard Commander, 1989; Ray Wilkings, 1990; Paul Kuhl, 1991; Robert Lawton; 1992; Earl Baltes, 1993;  Jody Deery, 1994; Andy Vertrees, 1995; Charles Powell, 1996; C-Ray Hall, 1997; Larry Kemp, 1998; Charles Cathell, 1999; Charles Deery, 2000; Ralph Capitani, 2001; Lanny Edwards, 2002; Bob & Nadine Strauss, 2003; Tom Curley, 2004, Steve York, 2005; John Padjen, 2006; Lynn Phillips, 2007; Joe & Walt Doellefeld, 2008; the Nuckles family, 2009; the Queensland family, Deer Creek (MN) Speedway, 2010; and Robert Sargent, Track Enterprises, Macon (IL), Paducah (KY) Speedways, 2011; Ron Drager and Scott Schultz, Flat Rock (MI) and Toledo (OH) Speedways, 2012; Roger Hadan, Eagle (NE) Raceway, 2013, Gary & Donna Howe, Kalamazoo Speedway, 2014, and Gray Garrison and the Hawkins Family, 2015.
The Auto Racing Promoter of the Year is short track racing’s most prestigious award. It is awarded each year after voting by promoters. The award was originated in 1976 by the editor of Racing Promotion Monthly. Voting is conducted in two phases: a preliminary ballot in the newsletter nominates candidates in six regions. The six candidates become Regional Promoters of the Year and then appear on a second ballot for final voting. It is the only national award recognizing promotional excellence selected by peers.  The award is for the 28th year sponsored by Charlotte Motor Speedway.
The Auto Racing Promoter of the Year ballot will soon reach readers of Racing Promotion Monthly via the U.S. Postal Service. The Forty-second Auto Racing Promoter of the Year will be revealed during the 45th Annual RPM@Daytona Workshop at the Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort, Daytona Beach, FL, February 12, 2018.

RPM@Daytona, February 11-13, 2018 The Networking Place For Short Track Promoters Hilton Daytona Beach Ocean Walk Village
Get RPM@Daytona Session Lineup/Schedule Here
Reserve RPM@Daytona Lodging Here
Get FAX RPM@Daytona Credential App Here
Jump To RPM@Daytona Online Credential App
A Service To Promoters Sponsored By. K&K Insurance Group, Inc Hoosier Racing Tire
Sponsor Links