Wayne County Speedway results 10-7-17

Sponsor Links


Orrville, Ohio

Saturday, October 7, 2017

By Tyler Altmyer & Mike Swanger

  Becoming the 5th different Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions winner in 5 starts at ‘Orrville’s Historic Oval’, Norman Oklahoma’s Christopher Bell hard charged from the inside of row 6 to score the $5,000 on Saturday night at NAPA Wayne County Speedway. Bell took command for the 1st time on lap 22, surviving a battle with rising star, Spencer Bayston, the circuit prior. Knoxville Raceway track champion, Ian Madsen chased Bell to the checkered flag followed by Broc Martin, Cole Duncan and Rob Chaney.

  For Bell, the NASCAR Camping World Truck series driver, it was his second Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions win of the season and third career win.

  “I’m just really thankful for the opportunity to drive this car for Ed Neumeister and the Linders”, said Christopher Bell, pilot of the Dough-Si-Dough, Linders Speed Equipment, DMI, and Fisher Racing Engines #11n. “It’s a true privilege to drive this thing”.

  Caleb Helms and Madsen led the 26 starters to green as Madsen earned the early advantage, leading Helms and Brad Haudenschild by the flagstand to complete lap one. A red flag on lap 2 slowed action for the 1st time when green flag conditions resumed, it was Madsen returning to the top spot, now with Spencer Bayston and Broc Martin in tow. The top three raced nose to tail for the next six circuits until the caution flag returned to the speedway on lap nine, ultimately resulting in an open red flag stop that also included a chance for medics to tend to a fan in the stands.

  Madsen led the field back to green, still in charge over Bayston and Martin. On lap 13, Bell drove around Martin to take third and now setting aim on Bayston and Madsen. By the mid point of the 30 lapper, the three front runners found themselves in a bumper to bumper battle for the lead and soon enough, utilizing a textbook slider through turns three and four, Bayston made a bold move and drove under Madsen to take command on lap 17. One circuit later, Bell also found room and cruised by Madsen with a perfect slide job, this time through turns one and two. With in two laps, Bell started to apply pressure on Bayston for the top spot, chasing him into traffic on lap 21. As the pair drag raced toward the flagstand to complete lap 22, Bell and Bayston made incidental contact causing the #39 of Bayston to flip wildly down the front straightaway. Bayston would walk away unharmed but his racing night was finished.

  With little damage after the contact with Bayston, Bell drove on to score the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions victory unchallenged, leading the last nine laps with Madsen and Martin in tow

  In a closely battled race for the Lowes Super Stocks, the top three of Daniel Sanchez, Doug Drown and Paul Holmes were never more than two car lengths apart as it all came down to the final corner when Averill Park NY driver Daniel Sanchez went down the back stretch on the final lap in third place behind Holmes and Drown. As the threesome went into turns three and four, Sanchez dove low as the other two drivers slid up the track just enough to let the 20 year old Sanchez, in his first ever trip to NAPA WCS, slide up in front of  them and take his only lead of the night with the checkered flag waving. Todd Werntz would lead the first lap and then the caution flag waved for outside front row starter Dustin Daugherty hit a tractor tire and came to a stop. The race resumed for a very short time as Kyle Moore would get really sideways in turn two and got T-boned by Derek Lewton that led to Moore’s car rolling over, ending up on his side with Lewton’s nose of his car on top of Moore’s vehicle. Both drivers were ok, but their night finished. With the race going back to green, Drown, who was driving Bob Daugherty’s #21d, grabbed the lead from Werntz with Holmes in his tire tracks. Holmes would take the lead on the next circuit as he and Drown would go back and forth, side by side, lap after lap with Sanchez right behind. Another three way battle was going on for fourth as Werntz, T A Perrine and Gary Hensel Jr raced for fourth. Making the winning move in turns three and four, Sanchez the University of Northwest Ohio (UNOH) student, drove the Silly’s Competition Engines, Cedar Parks and Danny Sanchez Contracting #463 into the Summit Racing victory lane, stating he “just loves to race”. Drown finished second with Holmes, Werntz and Perrine following.

  This wraps up the 2017 racing season at NAPA Wayne County Speedway with the Annual Awards Banquet set for Saturday, November 11th at the Pines Golf Course. For Banquet information and tickets, go to www.waynecountyspeedway.com


Saturday, October 7, 2017

Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions

Fast Qualifier  Cale Conley  14.552 seconds

Heat   1  Chad Kemenah, Cole Duncan, Spencer Bayston, Cale Conley, Caleb Armstrong, Trevor Baker, Cap Henry, John Garvin, Hunter Mackison

Heat   2   Max Stambaugh, Andrew Palker, Christopher Bell, Jordan Mackison, Danny Mumaw, Brandon Matus, T J Michael, Stuart Brubaker, Roger Campbell

Heat   3   Broc Martin, Brad Haudenschild, Lee Jacobs, Ryan Smith, Brent Matus, Ray Miller, Travis Esh, Tyler Dunn

Heat   4   Ian Madsen, Caleb Helms, Rob Chaney, Brandon Spithaler, Ryan Broughton, Jason Dolick, Brad Lamberson, Jordan Harble

Dash   1   Caleb Helms, Broc Martin, Andrew Palker, Max Stambaugh, Cale Conley

Dash   2   Ian Madsen, Chad Kemenah, Brad Haudenschild, Spencer Bayston, Cole Duncan

‘B’ Main   Cap Henry, Trevor Baker, Stuart Brubaker, Jordan Harble, John Garvin, T J Michael, Brandon Matus, Roger Campbell, Ray Miller, Brad Lamberson, Jason Dolick, Travis Esh, Tyler Dunn, Hunter Mackison

Feature   Christopher Bell, Ian Madsen, Broc Martin, Cole Duncan, Rob Chaney, Max Stambaugh, Chad Kemenah, Andrew Palker, Ryan Smith, Cap Henry, Danny Mumaw, Lee Jacobs, Trevor Baker, Brandon Spithaler, Brent Matus, Spencer Bayston, Brad Haudenschild, Brandon Matus, Jordan Harble, Ryan Broughton, Travis Esh, Caleb Helms, Caleb Armstrong, Stuart Brubaker, Cale Conley, Jordan Mackison

Lowes Super Stocks

Heat   1   Daniel Sanchez, Dustin Daugherty, Todd Werntz, Tim Coen, Derek Lewton, T A Perrine, Wes Staley, Jim Nicely

Heat   2   Paul Holmes, Kyle Moore, Gary Hensel Jr., Doug Drown, Don Rutt, Chris Albright, Trae Schonauer

Feature   Daniel Sanchez, Doug Drown, Paul Holmes, Todd Werntz, T A Perrine, Gary Hensel Jr., Chris Albright, Trae Schonauer, Wes Staley, Don Rutt, Tim Coen, Derek Lewton, Kyle Moore, Dustin Daugherty, Jim Nicely





Sponsor Links