10K on the line during Atomic Speedway’s Open Wheel Championships

ASCoC Open Wheel Championship Preview.jpg

Sponsor Links

10K on the line during Atomic Speedway’s Open Wheel Championships

INDIANAPOLIS, IN (August 24, 2017) – After a long, four-race stretch through Central Pennsylvania, Tony Stewart’s Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions will make the switch and return to competition in the Buckeye State, this time battling head-to-head with Ohio’s finest during a visit to Atomic Speedway in Chillicothe for the two-day Open Wheel Championships worth $15,000. The high-dollar weekend will not only feature a loaded roster of regional talent, but a few of the nation’s elite are also expected to be on hand including Brownsburg, Indiana’s Joey Saldana; St. Helena, California’s Rico Abreu; and Arctic Cat All Star owner, “Smoke” Tony Stewart.

The 2017 Open Wheel Championships schedule will feature two, full, Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions programs, igniting officially on Friday evening, August 25, with a $5,000-to-win main event. Action will continue on Saturday, August 26, with a $10,000-to-win finale; the final Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions appearance at the southern Ohio venue in 2017.

“This is going to be a very special weekend. We are more than excited to have the All Stars join us for the Open Wheel Championships. The plan is to build this into one of the biggest events of the summer in the state of Ohio and I feel we are already on the right track,” Brad McCown explained, Atomic Speedway promoter. “We are also pleased to have Tony Stewart race with us this weekend during the Open Wheel Championships. Our fans are in for one heck of the weekend.”

Leading the Arctic Cat All Star charge into Atomic Speedway, Alvada, Ohio’s Chad Kemenah is the defending Series champion, as well as the current Series point leader, standing on top of the current title chase with a 336-point cushion over the “Kunkletown Kid” Ryan Smith. Kemenah owns three Arctic Cat All Star victories in 2017, while Ryan Smith owns one; scoring $5,000 at Outlaw Speedway in Dundee, New York, in late July.

Joining Chad Kemenah and Ryan Smith within the top-five of the championship standings are New Castle, Indiana’s Caleb Armstrong; leading Arctic Cat All Star Rookie of the Year contender, Max Stambaugh; and Findlay, Ohio’s Caleb Helms.

The Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions visited Atomic Speedway on two different occasions thus far in 2017, one of which during Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Cometic Gasket on June 24. Cole Duncan was the Speedweek finale victor, holding off Spencer Bayston and D.J. Foos at the final checkers for the four-digit payday.

“We’ve had some great races at Atomic in 2017,” McCown said. “I’m confident this weekend will rank near the top.”

Atomic Speedway will open pit gates at 2:00pm on Friday, August 25. A mandatory drivers meeting will be conducted at 6:20pm, followed by hot laps at 7:00pm.

On Saturday, August 26, Atomic Speedway officials will open pit gates by 1:00pm. The Arctic Cat All Stars drivers meeting will take shape at 5:20pm, with hot laps to follow at 6:00pm, sharp. Those seeking additional news and notes should visit Atomic Speedway live on the Web at www.atomicspeedway.net.

Current Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions Standings (August 20, 2017):
1. Chad Kemenah – 4792
2. Ryan Smith – 4456
3. Caleb Armstrong – 4344
4. Max Stambaugh – 4040
5. Caleb Helms – 3878
6. Brandon Spithaler – 3751
7. T.J. Michael – 3741
8. Tyler Esh – 3677
9. Brandon Matus – 3522
10. Tim Shaffer – 3462

Additional Arctic Cat All Star Series Info:
Those seeking additional information regarding the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions should visit its official online home at www.allstarsprint.com. Series updates and breaking news will be posted regularly on the official Twitter account of the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions: https://twitter.com/ASCoC. Find full text results from each and every event, as well as an up-to-date schedule, online at

About the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions:
All Star Enterprises, LLC, wholly owned by Tony Stewart, d/b/a the All Star Circuit of Champions, is a winged sprint car series. The All-Star Circuit of Champions Sprint Car Series is one of the oldest traveling 410 sprint car organizations and is a staple of grassroots, open-wheel racing.  Formed in 1970 by Bud Miller, the series has largely been considered the first ‘outlaw’ Sprint Car organization of the modern era. After a 10 year stint as owner of the All Stars, Miller passed control of the series to Bert Emick in 1980; a reign that would continue through 2002. Guy Webb then purchased the series from Emick in the summer of 2002 and served as the series President for the next 12 years.  Motorsports entrepreneur Tony Stewart agreed to terms with Guy Webb to become the sole owner of the original winged sprint car tour in January of 2015.

About Arctic Cat:
The Arctic Cat brand is among the most widely recognized and respected in the recreational vehicle industry. The company designs, engineers, manufactures and markets all-terrain vehicles (ATVs), side-by-sides and snowmobiles, in addition to related parts, garments and accessories under the Arctic Cat® and Motorfist® brand names. Arctic Cat Inc.’s world headquarters is located in Minneapolis, Minnesota. More information about Arctic Cat and its products is available at

Contact: Tyler Altmeyer
Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions
(724) 954-4915


Sponsor Links