Another beautiful August night was the backdrop to some great racing at Crystal Motor Speedway

Sponsor Links

Another beautiful August night was the backdrop to some great racing at Crystal Motor Speedway where an amazing 145 cars were on hand. A large crowd filled the stands and the night was sponsored by Engine Pro.


The GLOW Modifieds (Great Lakes Open Wheel Modifieds) feature saw Todd Wilcox score the win over Bodhi Chiddister, Tony Campbell of Belding, Jeremy Hamilton, Chad Teague, Don Smith, Charles Johnson, and  Kenneth Quimby. Campbell and Wilcox take prelim events.


In the KFC Late Model division, Ryan VanderVeen of Six Lakes returned to his winning ways, moving from his tenth place starting position to hold off Scott Baker of Ionia. Kenny Playter, Saranac, was third, followed by Ryan Lanphierd, Midland, and Joseph Pomeroy of Cass City. Josh Knoll of Lake advanced by winning the B feature with heats falling to Scot Church, Ithaca, Michael Archer, Jackson, and Pomeroy. Baker holds an overwhelming 103 points lead over David Hilliker of Midland, assuring him of yet another division season title with only one more points night remaining in the season.


AJ Ward of Ionia took the Lane Automotive IMCA Modified feature despite a couple late race cautions over John DeYoung Jr., Chad Wernette, Sheridan, Myron DeYoung, Stanton, Austin Wonch of Stanton. Greenville’s Mitchell Hunt and Ward scored heat wins. The IMCA Mods have three more points nights left in their season. Ward’s feature win stretched his points lead over Myron DeYoung to thirty points. Both men are former division champions.


The Next Level Graphics and Design Street Stock feature was another barn burner in a group that has become extremely competitive. George Wease of Hubbardston edged out Stanton’s Ryan Alexander for the win. Michael Long, Coleman came home third, followed by, Eric Watz, North Branch, and Kevin Rohn of Stanton. Dennis Parker Jr. of Crystal and Josh Kunisch from Pigeon won the B features, with heat wins going to Timothy DeGroft Jr, Carson City, Larry Kosloski, Grand Ledge, and Dale Kaake III of Cass City. The points race changed dramatically when Jasen Wiley of Fenwick was involved in an early feature situation that sent him to the pits with a damaged car, allowing Alexander to take seventeen point lead going into their final points night.


Collin Schafer of Muir claimed another win in the Races On The Web Flinn Stock event over Draven Grosvenor, Crystal, Cory Baker, Belding, Ronald Fuhrman, Belding, and Ray Whitcomb of Carson City. Schafer and Rusty Sowles garnered heat event wins. Allen Roszell of Sheridan holds a twenty-three point lead over Schafer going into the Championship night event next week.


Chad Raby of Riverdale held off all comers to add another Port City Race Cars to his stat book. Jeramie Raby from Mt. Pleasant, grabbed second, followed by Derek Schestag, Ashley, Eric Baird, Lowell, and Mike Lafferty of Belding. Heat wins were collected up by Jeremy Spencer of Deford and Mike VanderMark Jr from Cedar Springs. Derek Schestag holds a four-point lead over Jeramie Raby in a tight points race.


The Engine Pro Pro Truck event was all Dave Peters of Alma as he edged out Jim Beltz of Kent City for the feature win. Rob Putt, Fenwick took the third position, followed by Chris Malek, Alma, and  Darin Lund of Sheridan. Heats were taken by Curtis Rice of Muskegon and Rob Putt of Fenwick. Matt Pickard of Grant was involved in an incident that ended his night early, but he maintains an eighteen point lead over Rice going into the final points night.


The Greenville Daily New Mini Wedge division for beginners saw Brent Wonch of Stanton take the ten to fourteen-year-old event over Andrew Bogart of Howard City, followed by Riley Bowen, Sheridan, Landon Miller, Zevon Nemetz, Crystal, Dillon Kohn, Sheridan, and Thomas Parker of Wayland. Wonch also landed the heat win. In the six to nine-year-old division, Zayden Buskirk of Crystal took the win over Eli Fellows, Crystal, Jazzlyn Hale, Crystal, Teegan Williams, Stanton, Lilyann Montgomery, Crystal, June Dora, Fenwick, and Mikah Kurkowski of Sidney. Buskirk also took the heat event. The points list show Bogart holding a seven point advantage over Bowen and in the younger class, Buskirk holds a single point lead over Hale.


Next week at Crystal Motor Speedway is the Season Championship points night for all divisions except the IMCA Modifieds who continue to accumulate points until the season finale September 17th. Gates open at 4:30 PM, with racing starting about 7:30 PM. Adults are $12, kids 5-11 are $5, and pit passes are $25. Further information can be obtained by calling the track office at 989.235.5200 or visiting the website at





Sponsor Links