Sponsor Links


Orrville, Ohio

Saturday, August 12, 2017

By Mike Swanger

On a cool August night, Wooster’s Doug Drown collected his 4th win while Bob Daugherty of Mansfield posted his 6th victory while Brad Hensel of Smithville grabbed his 4th checkered flag as Millersburg’s Marisa Beckett won the Powder Puff feature.

At the start of the Kar Connection Super Late Model feature, Shane McLoughlin led the opening lap from his pole position starting spot but Larry Bellman slide by on lap two as Drown was up to third in two circuits from his 6th starting grid spot. Driving the Hall’s Auto Sales, Car Connection and Wooster Glass #240, Drown would take control of the race on lap three as McLoughlin and Bellman would battle for second. The caution flag waved on lap four when Ryan Markham and Matt Irey tangled on the front stretch as both would head to the pits. On the restart, Drown stayed out front as McLoughlin and Bellman dueled for second with Charlie Duncan, Cody Scott and J R Gentry were hot on their rear bumper. Duncan would power past Bellman on lap 14 for third and four circuits later Gentry slipped past Bellman for fourth as Dave Hornikel was pestering Scott for sixth. Drown was widening his lead over McLoughlin as Duncan was trying to close in on McLoughlin as Gentry ran fourth. With three laps to go Scott would secure fifth from Bellman as Hornikel capture sixth on the last lap. With the, win Drown expands his points lead with only two races left. McLoughlin finished second in his first trip of the year to ‘Orrville’s Historic Oval’ as Duncan recorded his fifth top five of the season by finishing third as Gentry started 10th and moved to the 4th finishing spot as Scott took fifth from his 11th starting position. Craig Wolford, Markham and Drown won the heats as while Tony Musolino topped the last chance race.

Bob Daugherty and his Char’s Cars, McKenzie Concrete, and Metz Machine Shop #21d would go flag to flag for the Lowes Super Stock win and also increase his points lead. Dustin Daugherty stayed close for the first two laps but brought out the yellow flag when he suffered a flat tire on lap three moving Paul Holmes into second. Back to green, Gary Hensel Jr. would move into third past Mike Rose and then Holmes and Hensel Jr., the two heat winners, would race close and hard for second that would allow Daugherty to pull away. A couple of cautions in the latter part of the race kept the field close as Holmes and Hensel Jr. traded paint a couple of times with Hensel Jr. taking second with three laps to go to finish second for the 4th time this season. Holmes held on to third while Brandon Welker in his first visit to NAPA WCS, came from his 9th starting slot to grab fourth as Brandon Craver filled out the top five. The ‘Summer Series’ standings stay the same with Holmes, Hensel Jr. and Daugherty still the top three.  

Thirty six WQKT 104.5 Mini Stocks checked into the pits and when the night finished, Brad Hensel and his DJ Directional Services and JoyRide Transportation led all the way for his win and pull into the Summit Racing victory circle. Several cautions in the early stages of the race kept the field packed together but as the green flag waved for an extended time Hensel would set the pace as Wes Staley filled in the second position while Justin Cranmore and Jordan James would go back and forth for third. Cranmore made a last lap pass of James to claim third. Matt Miller moved up from starting 13th to fill out the top five. Cranmore, Michael Stewart, Brianna Hensel and Brad Hensel  pocketed the heat wins as Corey Mills notched the last chance race. With his second place finish, Wes Staley takes the lead in the ‘Summer Series’ by three points over Matt Miller and by 5 points over Justin Cranmore.

The last ‘Summer Series’ points races for both the Lowes Super Stocks and the WQKT 104.5 Mini Stocks will happen during the Ohio Dirt Blowout on Friday and Saturday, September 22nd and 23rd.

Marisa Beckett led seven of the eight laps to win the Powder Puff race as Tiffany Carter finished second out of the nine car field.

Next Saturday night, August 19th will see the Ohio Sprint Car Series back for their third and final visit of the year as Cole Duncan and Danny Smith have won the previous two OSCS races. It will also be the last race for the Attica Raceway Park/ NAPA Wayne County Speedway Super Late Model Series as Ryan Markham leads Doug Drown by 4 points and Cody Scott by 7 markers going into next week end’s action. The Lowes Super Stocks and the WQKT 104.5 Mini Stocks will also be on the racing card. The rained out Kid’s Night will be included as all the Kid’s that had tickets from Saturday, August 5th need to bring their tickets back for the many prizes available.

The ‘Racer’s Rewards’ from the Contingency Connection were once again up for grabs for the drivers during the evening and for the yearly awards.

Go to www.waynecountyspeedway.com for more information about the track.



Heat   1   Craig Wolford, Dave Hornikel, Charlie Duncan, JR Gentry, Brad Mickley, Tony Musolino, Ryan Eddleblute, Brett Bee, Brock Burcher, Austin Goon

Heat   2   Ryan Markham, Shane McLoughlin, Larry Bellman, Cody Scott, Jerry Aber, Jim Nicely, Matt Aber, Blaine Aber, Thomas Baker

Heat   3   Doug Drown, Matt Irey, Nathan Loney, Allan Baker, Shane Campbell, Scott Smith, Bob Fry, Jason Skelly, TJ Enos

‘B’ Main   Tony Musolino, Ryan Eddleblute, Matt Aber, Blaine Aber, Brett Bee, Austin Goon, Jason Skelly, TJ Enos, Thomas Baker, Brock Burcher, Scott Smith, Jim Nicely dns, Bob Fry dns

Feature   Doug Drown, Shane McLoughlin, Charlie Duncan, J R Gentry, Cody Scott, Dave Hornikel, Larry Bellman, Jerry Aber, Shane Campbell, Brad Mickley, Ryan Eddleblute, Blaine Aber, Matt Aber, Brett Bee, Matt Irey, Allan Baker, Ryan Markham, Nathan Loney, Craig Wolford dns, Tony Musolino dns


Heat   1   Paul Holmes, Dustin Daugherty, Brandon Craver, Tony Cline, Brandon Welker, Tyler Nicely, Ryan Ambrose, Paul McVicker, T A Perrine, Jordan James

Heat   2   Gary Hensel Jr., Bob Daugherty, Derek Lewton, Michael Rose, Chris Albright, Richard Grogg, Jamie Gibbs, Ryan Tope, Steve Hursey

Feature   Bob Daugherty, Gary Hensel Jr., Paul Holmes, Brandon Welker, Brandon Craver, Tony Cline, Chris Albright, Michael Rose, Jamie Gibbs, Ryan Tope, Tyler Nicely, T A Perrine, Paul McVicker, Jordan James, Richard Grogg, Derek Lewton, Ryan Ambrose, Dustin Daugherty, Steve Hursey dns


Heat   1   Justin Cranmore, Wes Staley, Cory Staley, Matt Miller, Dale Beckett, Wayne Newberry, Jeff Slykhuis, Clayton Evans, Taylor Mazzoleni dns

Heat   2   Michael Stewart, Jordan James, Shawn Rush, Brent Boreman, Cory Mills, Roger Rush Sr., Randy Gibson, Dustin Bedlion, Travis Dice dns

Heat   3   Brianna Hensel, Colin Slykhuis, Brad Henderson, Keith Rush, Michael Beckert, Chip Patterson, Ryan Carder, Ken Steele, Lance Smith

Heat   4   Brad Hensel, Cliff Staley, Doug Hensel, Brad Hershberger, Stephen Crowe, Gary Hensel Jr., Jim Burns, Jessica James, Chase Beckert  

‘B’ Main   Cory Mills, Gary Hensel Jr., Michael Beckert, Taylor Mazzoleni, Roger Rush Sr., Dale Beckett, Chip Patterson, Jeff Slykhuis, Wayne Newbury, Jessica James, Clayton Evans, Chase Beckert, Jim Burns, Dustin Bedlion, Stephen Crowe, Randy Gibson dns, Ryan Carder dns, Ken Steele dns, Lance Smith dns, Travis Dice dns

Feature   Brad Hensel, Wes Staley, Justin Cranmore, Jordan James, Matt Miller, Cliff Staley, Brent Boreman, Brad Hershberger, Keith Rush, Gary Hensel Jr., Taylor Mazzoleni, Shawn Rush, Doug Hensel, Michael Stewart, Colin Slykhuis, Cory Staley, Cory Mills, Brianna Hensel, Michael Beckert, Brad Henderson dns


Feature   Marisa Beckett, Tiffany Carter, #378, Sidney Rowe, #X, Amanda Williams, Chris Lyons, Sharon Washington, Lindsay Siekemeyer





Sponsor Links