Portsmouth Raceway Park hosted 410 Winged Sprint Cars for the first time in over a decade

Sponsor Links

PRP Press Release


Portsmouth Raceway Park hosted 410 Winged Sprint Cars for the first time in over a decade, and the speeds were phenomenal.

Some of the faster Sprint Car qualifiers were posting lap times with average speeds near 118 mph.  Fairmount, IN’s Brandon Wimmer set quick time, charged from sixth to first in one lap en route to winning his heat, and fended of Nathan Skaggs to claim the feature.

Wimmer said in victory lane after the Ohio Valley Sprint Car Association A-Main that he liked how the track had multiple racing grooves allowing him to drive his car wherever he needed to go.

As for the other classes in attendance Saturday night, Ervin Vance was the winner in the Modifieds.  Evyian Terry took the checkers in the Limited Lates, and Luke Jordan prevailed in the Sport Mods.

In total, 110 race teams were on hand at PRP.  There were 25 Sprints, 37 Modifieds, 14 Limited Lates, and 34 Sport Mods.

Wimmer led every lap of his heat and every lap of the feature, but the OVSCA A-Main victory didn’t come easy for the 31-year-old with 17 years of Sprint Car racing experience.  Chillicothe’s Nathan Skaggs finished a little less than a car length behind and was gaining ground in the closing laps.

Skaggs charged from 17th to second.  Ron Blair moved up from sixth to finish third.  Jamie Myers and Lance Webb rounded out the top five.  Blair and Myers rode the rim throughout most of the race taking their machines as about as high on the track as they could go without getting into the wall.

Sam Ashworth, Mitch Harble, Andre Layfield, Dave Dickson, and Chris Ferrall made up the rest of the top 10.  Scioto Countian Rick Fraley, from Lucasville, placed 11th.

Ervin Vance returned to winner’s circle in the R.W. Rental and Supply Modifieds.  The defending track champ scored his second feature win of the season, as he held off Jody Puckett to take the victory.  Adam Jordan, Jeremy Rayburn, Tony DeHart, Eddie Harmon, Davey Warnock, David McWilliams, Adam Colley, and Logan Burke rounded out the top 10.

Former track champ Evyian Terry grabbed the win in the O’Reilly Auto Parts Limited Late Model Division.  For the longtime racer from Catlettsburg, Saturday marked his first win of the season.

Terry held off Billy Staker and Mike Meyers to earn the victory.  Randy Ross, Ronnie Whitt, Cameron Logan, Jacob Curnutte, Kevin Terry, Charlie Mullett, and Kevin Mullett completed the top 10.

While the Limited Late Model A-Main was very competitive, the two heat races in the division were stellar.  In the first heat, Terry got by Randy Ross with a last-lap, last-turn pass.  In the second heat, there were three and four different lines used throughout the race providing for a lot of side-by-side action.  In Heat 2, Mike Meyers got by Ronnie Whitt with two to go and held on for the win.

Luke Jordan captured the win in the M & M Inflatables Sport Mod Division.  It was the South Webster racer’s first victory of the season.

Jordan was caught up in an early-race accident during the feature, but as his car spun down into the infield he wisely kept his foot on the gas and never stopped.  Therefore, he got his position back for the ensuing restart.

Jordan was running second at the time.  He would get by Cody Gifford on lap three and would never look back.  Brian Sammons, Jr., B.J. Branham, Gifford, and Billy Baldridge closed out the top five with Alan Gulley, Brian Sammons, Sr., Brayden Berry, Rick Neace, and Junior Spillman rounding out the top 10.

This coming Saturday Portsmouth Raceway Park will host The 8th Annual Mod Squad Spectacular presented by Lemley Motorsports.  The race will pay Modifieds $3,000 to win.  Also on the card will be Late Models and Sport Mods.  For more details log on to www.portsraceway.com.



Results for 7/29/17 – Portsmouth Raceway Park – Portsmouth, OH

OVSCA Sprint Car A-Main

  1. A67-Brandon Wimmer [1]; 2. 2-Nathan Skaggs [17]; 3. 35R-Ron Blair [6]; 4. 1-Jamie Myers [3]; 5. 80-Lance Webb32 [7]; 6. 92-Sam Ashworth [4]; 7. 15H-Mitch Harble [8]; 8. 22L-Andre Layfield [16]; 9. 7A-Dave Dickson [11]; 10. 4AU-Chris Ferrall [5]; 11. 3F-Rick Fraley [9]; 12. B51-Benny Hickel [10]; 13. X4X-Jimmy Stinson [2]; 14. 41-Randy Fink [13]; 15. 9J-Jesse McCreary [14]; 16. 45T-Bob Tucker [12]; 17. 84-Cale Stinson [18]; 18. 83-Adam Cruea [15]


Modified A-Main

  1. P20-Ervin Vance [1]; 2. J3-Jody Puckett [2]; 3. 13-Adam Jordan [5]; 4. 12R-Jeremy Rayburn [3]; 5. 35-Tony DeHart [4]; 6. 87-Eddie Harmon [7]; 7. 44-Davey Warnock [6]; 8. 18-David McWilliams [13]; 9. 1B-Adam Colley [15]; 10. Z28-Logan Burke [17]; 11. 11-Austin Francis [19]; 12. 11S-Tyler Smith [16]; 13. 38-Aaron Branham [9]; 14. 2A-Rick Butler [14]; 15. 8-Jimmy Lennex [11]; 16. 26-Jason Bilyeu [10]; 17. 1S-Keith Smith [12]; 18. 11CS-Cody Smith [18]; 19. 1J-John Brady, Jr. [20]; 20. 00-Justin Cooper [8]


Limited Late Model A-Main

  1. 58-Evyian Terry [1]; 2. 7S-Billy Staker [6]; 3. 10M-Mike Meyers [2]; 4. 94-Randy Ross [3]; 5. 11-Ronnie Whitt [4]; 6. 68-Cameron Logan [5]; 7. 5C-Jacob Curnutte [7]; 8. 97C-Kevin Terry [9]; 9. 73-Charlie Mullett [10]; 10. K73-Kevin Mullett [11]; 11. 81-John Melvin [14]; 12. W1-Joe Whitt [8]; 13. 5M-Brett Kennard [12]; (DNS) M-1-Harold Terry


Sport Mod A-Main

  1. 13J-Luke Jordan [2]; 2. B5JR-Brian Sammons, Jr. [4]; 3. 77T-BJ Branham [10]; 4. 88G-Cody Gifford [1]; 5. 7WB-Billy Baldridge [12]; 6. 51G-Alan Gulley [14]; 7. B5-Brian Sammons [3]; 8. 75B-Brayden Berry [9]; 9. 12N-Rick Neace [16]; 10. 51-Junior Spillman [17]; 11. 11B-Brandon Colley [18]; 12. 34-Derek Richmond [6]; 13. 24B-Brennan Bobst [11]; 14. 19-Brandon Walker [7]; 15. 25S-Derek Spencer [15]; 16. 15-Jason Spillman [13]; 17. 2E-Brandon Carver [19]; 18. 13E-Emily Jordan [8]; 19. 4J-Jimmy Cox [20]; (DQ) 19L-Robert Lunsford [5]


Sponsor Links