The Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt made their second foray to Crystal Motor Speedway Saturday

George Wease SS 7.15.17
Aperture: 3.5Camera: Canon EOS DIGITAL REBEL XSiIso: 400
« 1 of 8 »
Sponsor Links

The Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt made their second foray to Crystal Motor Speedway Saturday with a huge fan base on hand. Over 120 cars were in the pits ready to compete on the big clay oval.

The Engine Pro SOD Sprint event was a fast paced barn burner with Steve Irwin of Fenton taking the win. Irwin also claimed one of the two heat races with Shawn Valenti taking the other.

In the KFC Late Model event, Kenny Playter of Saranac took a hard fought win over Derrick Hilliker, Midland, Scott Baker, Ionia, David Hilliker, Midland, and Rachel Carpenter of Laingsburg. Playter and Taylor Wiles of Hubbardston scored heat wins.

Gary VanderMark of Lowell held back John DeYoung Jr. of Crystal to take the win in the Lane Automotive IMCA Modified event. Rusty Zeigler, Ovid finished third, followed by Mitchell Hunt, Greenville, and Austin Wonch from Stanton. Heats fell to Hunt and AJ Ward of Ionia.

The Next Level Graphics and Design Street Stock feature saw George Wease of Hubbardston hold off all comers to take the win in a highly competitive field. Will Stanley of Weidman moved up from his eighth place starting position to grab second, followed by Jasen Wiley, Fenwick, Ryan Alexander, Stanton, and Dennis Parker Jr. of Crystal. Muir’s Gabe Geselman advanced by winning the B Main feature with heats being taken by Stanley, Wiley, and Billy Wilkins of Gowen.

The Races On The Web Flinn Stock feature was taken by Mike Currier of Fenwick after a tough fight with Collin Schafer of Muir. Kolby Rohn, Sheridan took the third place finish, followed by Draven Grosvenor, Crystal, and Ronald Fuhrman of Belding. Currier and Grosvenor also claimed the preliminary heat events.

Sheridan’s Don Rohn fought back a late race charge by Josh Loomis of Weidman to win the Port City Pro Stock feature. Kyle Prochazka of St Johns, Chad Raby, Riverdale, and Jeramie Raby of Mt Pleasant. Rohn and Chad Raby scored heat wins in previous events.

The Greenville Daily News Mini-Wedge youth division features saw the 10 to 14-year-old division win going to Andrew Bogart of Howard City, followed by Thomas Parker of Wayland, Riley Bowen, Sheridan, Dillon Kohn, Sheridan, and Rylee Knoll of Lake. Bogart also took the heat win. In the 6 to the 9-year-old event, Eli Fellows of Crystal fended off a late charge by Mikah Kurkowski of Sidney to take his first feature win. Jazzlyn Hale of Crystal grabbed third, followed by Cole Doty, Shepherd, and Zayden Buskirk of Crystal. Buskirk scored the earlier qualifying race.

Next week at Crystal Motor Speedway is ‘Autograph Night’ where fans can meet their favorite drivers out on the track for photos and autographs. The session starts at 6 PM and ends at 7 PM. Gates open at 4:30 PM, with racing at about 7:30 PM. Adults are $12, kids 5-11 are $5, and pit passes are $25. Further information can be obtained by calling the track office at 989.235.5200 or visiting the website at

Sponsor Links