Home | Race Tracks | Crystal Motor Speedway | Results April 15th, 2017 Crystal Motor Speedway

Results April 15th, 2017 Crystal Motor Speedway

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font
Results April 15th, 2017 Crystal Motor Speedway





Crystal Motor Speedway opened its 2017 racing season with 139 cars in the pits and a full stands of fans. The night was sponsored by the Ionia Sentinel-Standard.




In the Port City Racing Pro Stock division, Nate Jones came from deep in the field to take the win over Jeramie Raby in a well fought battle. Rob Brillhart landed the third place spot, followed by Kyle Prochazka, Derek Schestag, Jaramia Richards, Eric Baird, TJ Gilbert, Matt Muha, and Josh Kunisch. Jeramie Raby, Chad Raby, and Mike VanderMark Jr took heat races.




Curtis Rice returned to the 2017 season in championship form, edging out Matt Pickard for the win in the Engine Pro Pro Truck feature. Mickey Currier brought it home to take third over Chris Malek, Shane Spencer, Dave Peters, Darin Lund, Scott Lutterloh, Rob Putt, and Jason Omans. Pickard and Rice also scored heat wins. 




The Lane Automotive Modified feature event saw Brenten DeYoung pull in front of and then away from his Father, Myron DeYoung in an exciting race. Austin Wonch gathered the third place finish over Mike Shanteau, Mitchell Hunt, AJ Ward, Kody Johnson, Joe Fowler, Jerry Hunt, and Ken Zeigler. Rusty Zeigler scored the B Main while heats were taken by Myron DeYoung, Johnson, and Mitchell Hunt.                




The KFC Late Model feature event was probably the best race of the night. An information glitch prevents the reporting of the third through tenth position, the race was a dog fight between Ryan VanderVeen and Scott Baker, perennial powerhouses in the division. Baker trailed VanderVeen by half a car length or less for the final four laps. Lapped traffic allowed Baker to slide in front of VanderVeen coming down the back stretch. Coming to the checker, the two cars pulled side by side, with Baker pulling out the win by the width of a track program. Taylor Wiles grabbed the B Main win with heats falling to Logan Love, Travis Stemler, and Scott Olger.




Jasen Wiley won the Street Stock event, moving up from his seventh place starting position over Doug Patterson, Joel Field, Eric Watz, George Wease, Ryan Alexander, Mike Kresnak, Mike Spencer, Willis McKenzie, and John Wills. Dustin Weber and Spencer went home with B Main wins, with heats falling to Alexander, Wiley, and Field.




Joey Eller came from deep in the field to take the Flinn Stock feature over Mike Schnettler, Don Fenner, Collin Schafer, Ronald Fuhrman, Cory Baker, Allen Roszell, Russ Ferens, Mike Currier, and Colby Rohn.  Mike Schnettler, Eller, and Geoff Parks went home with heat wins. 




Next week at Crystal Motor Speedway is a full show of all six divisions. Pit gates open at 4:30PM with grandstand gates opening at 5PM. Further information may be obtained by calling the track office at 989.235.5200 or visiting the website at crystalmotorspeedway.com



Subscribe to comments feed Comments (0 posted)

total: | displaying:

Post your comment

Please enter the code you see in the image:

  • email Email to a friend
  • print Print version
  • Plain text Plain text
Tagged as:
Rate this article
Powered by SCW CMS v4.5.2