Sponsor Links





(Fair Champions to be crowned Sunday September 2)


(Norway, MI) Aug 31 – Vulcan veteran Kris Kelly waited like a cat – waiting for the right opportunity to pounce.


Kelly’s patience paid off on the final lap after running third on the final lap the leaders collided and Kelly dove underneath the duo to capture the wild victory.


The 35 lap race was plagued by several yellows in the early going. Those wrecks took out some heavy hitters, including former track champions Dan Lindsley of Vulcan and Dalton Zehr of Menominee, along with top point contenders Escanaba’s Robby Iverson and Bark River’s Tom Lindquist.


For the first several laps veteran Bruce White of Spread Eagle and rookie Tyler Wusterbarth of Oconto stayed neck-and-neck, with White assuming the lead. After a bevy of cautions Joey Pontbriand assumed the lead and appeared to be on track to collect his first feature of the season.


With ten laps remaining, Kingsford’s Jason Wells, Kelly and Brian Stanchina closed the gap on Pontbriand, with Wells looking high and low to get past Pontbriand. On the final corner coming out of turn four Pontbriand and Wells made contact and slid up high. This allowed Kelly to duck underneath to take the checkers, as Pontbriand’s racer spun wildly across the checkers in second, ending up near the turn one guardrail.


Stanchina hung on for third, with Wells taking fourth and defending track champion Dillion Kralovetz padding his point lead with a fifth place finish. Young Cameron Clifford, who briefly led early on, recovered from an earlier spin to post a

solid sixth place finish.


15-year-old Parker Cain made the tow from Big Bay worthwhile as the teenager picked up his first career feature flag here in a popular win in the Auto Value super stocks. Vulcan’s Cody Skog sifted his way through lapped cars to pick up the stock four feature win while Iron Mountain’s “Uncle Pete” Fraser scored the feature flag in the 141 Auto sportsman division.


Sunday, September 2 another full racing program will take place, with a $1,000 top prize being awarded to the late model feature winner. Sport trucks will also be on hand.


Four champions will be crowned “Fair Champions” with combined points being tallied up between the two nights of racing. $1,000 will be awarded to the Coca Cola late model champion – $500 to the Auto Value series champion and $100 apiece to both the 141 Auto Sportsman and stock four champions, respectively. Racing gets underway at 4 p.m.


For more information please check out our website or check out our Facebook page as well.




AUTO VALUE COCA COLA LATE MODEL FEATURE  Kris Kelly, Vulcan; Joey Pontbriand, Norway; Brian Stanchina, Kingsford; Jason Wells, Kingsford; Dillion Kralovetz, Bonduel, WI; Cameron Clifford, Norway; Scott Hoffman, Menominee; Bruce White, Spread Eagle, WI; Tyler Wusterbarth, Oconto, WI; Alyssa Larson, Green Bay, WI; Travis Rodewald, Manitowoc, WI; Jordan Chambers, Green Bay, WI; Dalton Zehr, Menominee; Dan Lindsley, Vulcan; Tom Lindquist, Bark River; Robby Iverson, Escanaba Gregg Haese, Francis Creek (DNS)


SEMI- FEATURE – Hoffman; Rodewald; Brett Breitenfeldt, Wausau, WI; John Ostermann, Norway; Dean Varda, Vulcan; Scott Bolster, Marquette; Mike Lantange, Vulcan; Derek Gagne, Menominee; Michelle Janczewski, Armstrong Creek, WI; Robert Solucki, Vulcan; Ricky Holmstrom, Kingsford


HEATS 1) Rodewald; Hoffman 2) Breitenfeldt; Ostermann 3) Lindquist; White


DASH – Wells


FAST TIME – Zehr, 14.873


AUTO VALUE SUPER STOCK FEATURE – Parker Cain, Big Bay; Andy Gerwig, Iron Mountain; Kevin Peterson, Marinette, WI; Anthony Schiefelbein, Pembine, WI


HEAT –   Cain; David Loomis, Norway


DASH – Gerwig


FAST TIME – Schultz, 16.225


141 AUTO SPORTSMAN FEATURE – Pete Fraser, Iron Mountain; Jade Novara, Kingsford; Jordan Masicotte, Norway; Preston Weddel, Crivitz, WI; B.J. Schoneck, Marion, WI


HEATS 1) Weddel; Janczewski 2) Jeff Schettler, Iron Mountain; Fraser


FAST TIME – Fraser, 18.060


STOCK FOUR FEATURE – Cody Skog, Vulcan; Trevor Cronick, Faithhorn; Adam Faull, Vulcan; Jake Dulford, Vulcan; Jasper Drenger, Shawano, WI


HEATS 1) Drengler; Brett Moore, Aurora, WI 2) Zach Gazda, Vulcan; Jake Dulford


FAST TIME – Skog 18.041


Sponsor Links